Olay Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Olay
Shop Miscellaneous or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Olay Age Defying Classic Cleanser

Olay Age Defying Classic Cleanser

Cleanses and exfoliates to renew skin's surface, revealing softer, smoother facial skin instantly
Average Customer Rating:
4.286 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
(14 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
This area allows consumers like you to express their own opinions and comments. Olay does not represent or warrant the accuracy of any statements or product claims made here, nor endorses any opinions expressed within this section.
Customer Reviews for Age Defying Classic Cleanser
Review 1 for Age Defying Classic Cleanser
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Cyclone
Iowa
Age: 25-34
My skin type is: Combination
Sensitive skin: Yes
Using Olay since: 2009

My favorite beauty product

Posted on05/09/13 07:14 AM
I first started using this product at 22. With my mild to moderate acne, I was sick of trying the various "teeny bopper" face washes that did nothing but dry out and aggravate my skin. I decided to try a more grown-up cleanser and found this one. It made such a great difference in my complexion. For the first time I was using a cleanser that kept my face moisturized and gradually cleared up my skin. To my surprise even gave my drab skin a healthy glow the more I used it. This will always be my go-to cleanser. I am now 26 and when I was pregnant (dealing with hormones) I broke out badly while trying other face washes but this one brought me back to normal. This is my favorite beauty product and would be incredibly disappointed if Olay ever stopped making it. From a marketing standpoint, I wish Olay would just keep the classic Olay black/gold packaging instead of the futuristic current label. I was first attracted to this product because the classic looking label gave me the impression this product has stood the test of time, and for me, it definitely has. Thanks Olay!
Review 2 for Age Defying Classic Cleanser
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Donald
Tallahassee, Florida.
Age: 25-34
My skin type is: Combination
Sensitive skin: Yes
Using Olay since: 2011

Where is this product going? Very hard to find...

Posted on01/29/13 06:49 AM
So last week I went to Wal Mart, usually the one-stop to find almost anything Olay, but there was a big empty spot on the shelf where this cleanser should have been. Then went to Walgreens on my side of town and guess what, another empty spot! So, I went to the Dollar General accross from my Apartment complex and they did have one, only one, on the shelf that had been opened so didn't buy it. Then I went to Publix, they didn't even stock it. I noticed one more Walgreens on the way back home and decided to try again. They had one, uno, non-tampered-with bottle. Might as well have had a spotlight from the clouds on it with a Choir singing in the background! I thought this may have been just a local "Tallahassee" thing, you know like there is an "Olay Hoarder" running around town, however, I have found that dang near ALL online retailers have gone out of stock. Even pgestore.com, walmart.com etc.... PLEASE don't take this product away from me when I just discovered the magic of it!
Review 3 for Age Defying Classic Cleanser
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Bonni
Southwestern Pennsylvania
Age: 45-54
My skin type is: Combination
Sensitive skin: No
Using Olay since: 1990

would use nothing else on my face

Posted on07/23/12 09:30 AM
Love this product. have used it for years and no one believes that I will be 46 soon! People think I am still in my 30's. I know it is because of the Olay products that I use.. Thank you
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Age Defying Classic Cleanser
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
tinydespot
MILWAUKEE WI
Age: 35-44
My skin type is: Normal
Sensitive skin: No
Using Olay since: 1992

Love this, so much

Posted on03/13/12 04:35 PM
For a very long time I could not find this in stores here. There were eleventy-bazillion other Olay products, but not this old stand-by. Recently for whatever reason it's reappeared and I could not be happier. I've used this since Jesus was a boy and nothing ever has compared. My 11 yr old is constantly feeling my face after I use it and proclaiming it "not fair!" that my face feels softer than hers.
Review 5 for Age Defying Classic Cleanser
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Newfiemom
Kittery, ME
Age: 55-64
My skin type is: Combination
Sensitive skin: Yes
Using Olay since: 1985

Best I have ever tried!

Posted on02/23/10 04:08 PM
I finally found the perfect match for my not so normal skin, Although I am fair, I have abused my skin with sun and cold weather. I had almost given up on finding a cleanser that could clean my skin and still help moisturize it without having breakouts or dry patches. Thank you. I should have tried it sooner!
Review 6 for Age Defying Classic Cleanser
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
prib
Hernando, Florida
Age: 45-54
My skin type is: Combination
Sensitive skin: Yes
Using Olay since: 1995

My "can't live without product."

Posted on11/20/09 01:19 AM
I have used this product since I read about it in Allure Magazine when it first came on the market relating to its beta hydroxy acid ingredient, salicylic acid. Although it is marketed as "age defying," I think that it should also be marketed for its benefit of being gentle, but for healing acne and preventing acne. I think that it is a great exfoliator, while "feeling" gentle. It is the best exfoliant that I have used. I hope that they never remove it from the market! I always buy an extra one for "back up," in case it is removed from the shelves. I don't think that there is another product that even comes close to it in any line.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Age Defying Classic Cleanser
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Anonymous
New Orleans, La
Age: 55-64
My skin type is: Combination
Sensitive skin: Yes
Using Olay since: 2008

Keepin Aging Simple

Posted on06/16/09 09:12 AM
Age Defying Daily Renewal facial cleanser has been the first step in my daily cleansing routine for 8 years. After cleansing with this product my face feels clean and fresh without harsh abrasive cleaning. It prepares my face and neck for step 2 in my daily routine(Refreshing Toner Astringent). My face is soft, radiant and wrinkle free at age 61. Please keep making this product.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Age Defying Classic Cleanser
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
KrisJ
Schertz, TX
Age: 35-44
My skin type is: Combination
Sensitive skin: Yes
Using Olay since: 1992

Velvety smooth skin

Posted on06/04/09 03:33 PM
I love the age defying foaming facial cleanser! It's gentle foam gets deep into my pores to remove makeup and it has exfoliating properties that remove dirt and dead skin cells. What's amazing is how moisturizing it is for a cleanser! My face feels clean and hydrated after washing - and that's before applying moisturizer. Great Product!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Age Defying Classic Cleanser
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
addie
ny
Age: 35-44
My skin type is: Oily
Sensitive skin: Yes
Using Olay since: 2009

only one

Posted on06/03/09 01:51 PM
this is the only cleanser i can use i have sensitive skin plus acne and when i use this my skin is not irritated or dry and it actually feels so soft. i love it started using it about 4 months ago i am actually amazed because i've used alot of products they either dry my skin or irritate it so i get bumps i almost gave up then i happen to pick this up because i use your soap also, thank you soooooo much i recommend it to my girls and sisters hey even my husband uses it. i wish i had more coupons though lol
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Age Defying Classic Cleanser
Overall Rating
4 / 5
4 / 5  stars
Autumn74
West Palm Beach, FL
Age: 35-44
My skin type is: Combination
Sensitive skin: No
Using Olay since: 2009

Use a Different Container

Posted on11/16/11 04:16 PM
I absolutely love this product and how clean it makes my face feel after a wash. BUT, because it is such a thick product I can never get all of it out of the bottle using the pump. The last bottle I had I cut open and there was enough product inside for at LEAST another 2-3 washes. That really adds up to money lost and product wasted. Perhaps Olay might consider using a wide-mouth bottle with a screw top so the consumer can get to every last ounce of this wonderful face wash.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Age Defying Classic Cleanser
Overall Rating
4 / 5
4 / 5  stars
gr8skin
Chicago, IL
Age: 25-34
My skin type is: Combination
Sensitive skin: Yes
Using Olay since: 2000

Nice product, not so nice fragrance

Posted on07/24/11 10:00 PM
I really love Olay products. This product really feels great on my skin and lives up to its reputation! However, I do not like the fragrance. I wish the fragrance were "lighter" and "refreshing." I am hoping this was just a stale batch and the next supply will smell better.
Review 12 for Age Defying Classic Cleanser
Overall Rating
2 / 5
2 / 5  stars
Nene
Columbia, SC
Age: 25-34
My skin type is: Combination
Sensitive skin: Yes
Using Olay since: 2007

Not what I was looking for.

Posted on11/29/09 11:30 AM
This product is not for those who tend to where make-up. I'm thirty yrs. old and just starting to wear foundation. This product felt more like thick hand lotion and did not lather well, I also notice that my face has started to break out a little more since using it. Maybe I got a bad batch b/c overall I love olay.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Olay:By DeeConsumer Care12/02/09 07:34 AM
Sorry to hear you’re having more break outs with the Olay Age Defying Daily Renewal Cleanser. We’ve extensively tested this product for safety so I’m surprised to hear you had this experience. We’d like to gather additional information for our Health & Safety Team. Please call us at 1-800-395-0737. Thanks!
Review 13 for Age Defying Classic Cleanser
Overall Rating
1 / 5
1 / 5  stars
esan
Bethlehem,PA
Age: 35-44
My skin type is: Normal
Sensitive skin: No
Using Olay since: 2006

Horrible Product

Posted on10/13/09 08:30 AM
This product worked once. After that my skin felt rough, very irritated and not feeling cleansed at all. I am so disapointed in olay products.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Age Defying Classic Cleanser
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating
4 / 5
4 / 5  stars