Olay Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Olay
Shop Classics or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Olay Active Hydrating Facial Cream - Original

Olay Active Hydrating Facial Cream - Original

Facial cream replenishes skin with moisture and soothes dryness without leaving behind a greasy feel
Average Customer Rating:
4.529 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
(17 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
1 / 2(50%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
This area allows consumers like you to express their own opinions and comments. Olay does not represent or warrant the accuracy of any statements or product claims made here, nor endorses any opinions expressed within this section.
Customer Reviews for Active Hydrating Facial Cream - Original
Review 1 for Active Hydrating Facial Cream - Original
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Effectiveness
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
jmac3456
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Age: 25-34
My skin type is: Normal
Using Olay since: 2004
I saw results: As expected

The secret

Posted on06/20/14 06:47 PM
I started using this product when I was young b/c whenever I met someone older who didn't look it I would ask what they used and they always said, Oil of Olay.
Its a classic for a reason!
Review 2 for Active Hydrating Facial Cream - Original
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
lbot
Lincoln, Ne
Age: 35-44
My skin type is: Oily
Sensitive skin: Yes
Using Olay since: 2001

The best facial moisturizer.

Posted on01/19/13 07:34 PM
I have purchased many moisturizers, and this is by far the BEST.....This year I will hit 40, and must admit, I started the hunt several years ago. Not many products have I purchased more than once, but this is one that I always have. IMO, it must be used with whatever wrinkle/acne/problem, you may have, but, is the most, perfect moisturizer to use layered with whatever you may be using for your own personal needs. Love this stuff, don't ever discontinue this Olay...Please!
Review 3 for Active Hydrating Facial Cream - Original
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Dimples121880
Decatur, GA
Age: 25-34
My skin type is: Combination
Sensitive skin: Yes
Using Olay since: 1996

Great Product

Posted on10/05/12 07:11 AM
I purchased this cream about two weeks ago and I'm glad I did. It all started when I was searching for a new moisterizer for my face. I have combination skin and its so hard to find the right product. I was using Clinique for about seven months but my tzone would still be oily and the rest of my face still dry, especially my cheeks. Not to mention I was tired of spending so much on expensive products that are high end. I searched and searched and then it dawned on me to see what Olay offered. I have used other Olay products so I'm a fan but never anything on my face. I bought this and it has hydrated my dry areas very well and makes my skin so soft and velvety smooth. The smell is not overwhelming to me, it kind of smells like baby powder actually. But most importantly my skin looks even toned and my skin glows. I don't normally suffer with acne or bad skin in general, I have clear skin but I like to keep my skin looking its best and definitely not dry looking. This makes even good looking skin look better and that's saying something. A little goes a long way you don't need to apply much so the jar should last quite a while. I also wash my face in the day and also at night and apply this cream both times. I know this is a classic and its one of their older products but I love a product that's time tested and lives up to its word. Thank you Olay for such wonderful products you make. I'll always be a lifelong user.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Active Hydrating Facial Cream - Original
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Robyn315
Point Pleasant NJ
Age: 45-54
My skin type is: Combination
Sensitive skin: No
Using Olay since: 1989

The Best Facial Cream Ever!

Posted on07/31/11 01:21 AM
This is truly the best facial cream out there to use. I have tried many only to go back to Olay Active Hydrating cream. I just hope and pray that the company does not discontinue this wonderful product. I started using Olay active hydrating cream when I was 25 and I have no wrinkles and people want to know what's my secret and of course I proudly say "Olay Baby"!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Active Hydrating Facial Cream - Original
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Melwarn
Westerville, OH
Age: 45-54
My skin type is: Normal
Sensitive skin: No
Using Olay since: 2011

I thought it was "old school"...

Posted on05/24/11 08:07 AM
And "old school" is great...:) There is a reason why this product is still on the market, after all. I remember my mom using this sporadically, and I have tried other Olay products, but this is the one I was remain faithful to. My regimen is Oil of Olay in the morning; and Night of Olay prior to bed. My skin is radiant, soft, younger looking and more firm in literally just a matter of days. I don't care about looking "older", but I want to look the best I can at every age. Oil of Olay is helping me do just that. Thanks so much!
Review 6 for Active Hydrating Facial Cream - Original
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
styleicon17
Anchorage, AK
My skin type is: Normal
Sensitive skin: No

I Got It From My Momma

Posted on04/07/11 09:51 PM
I recently was searching for a new facial moisturizer because the one I was using 'Velocity' by Mary Kay felt and smelled disgusting as well as did absolutely nothing for my skin. We went to Wal-Mart and I searched through a variety of products but my mom insisted I try Olay (as she has used it most of her life). I cannot even begin to express how much I love this product! I have never felt compelled to write a review for a product but after a few days of this hydrating cream, I knew I had to share! My skin has never felt softer, smoother or more instantly hydrated. I have struggled with acne (and dry skin) for most of my pre teen and teen years and though it's cleared up significantly, I still couldn't trust products not to make it feel oily, greasy and cause a break out. I love that Olay doesn't make me break out and my skin has never felt more wonderful. I would recommend this product to anyone!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Active Hydrating Facial Cream - Original
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Shrlotsweb
Baltimore
Age: 45-54
My skin type is: Normal
Sensitive skin: No
Using Olay since: 1988

My beautiful secret...

Posted on01/20/11 07:48 PM
My mom will be 90 years old in June 2011. She has used Olay ever since I was a little girl and I am now 52. She is so beautiful for her age and always has Oil of Olay in her bathroom and bedroom. I have been using for about 23 years now and everyone tells me I look like I am in my late 30's or early 40's. I tell them "Oil of Olay". It makes me think of her every morning and night when I use it getting ready for work or getting ready for bed. LOVE IT! Thank you so much for wrinkle free face and a memory of a life time.
Review 8 for Active Hydrating Facial Cream - Original
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
mizk
Ventura, CA
My skin type is: Combination
Sensitive skin: No
Using Olay since: 2007

Great for basics.

Posted on11/29/10 04:03 PM
I Love this cream! Its not heavy at all. everything will absorb in three minutes. I have oily and dry skin and couldn't wear anything at night without a zit in the morning! Im serious. Its great all day long. I recommended to my mom who doesnt ever use anything but soap. made a difference to her seemingly perfect skin. and it last long and a cheap price.
FYI: I am a real person! I always think the makers post their own comments to get people to buy it.
Review 9 for Active Hydrating Facial Cream - Original
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Raluca
Biddeford, Maine
Age: 25-34
My skin type is: Combination
Sensitive skin: No
Using Olay since: 2003

Awesome cream!

Posted on05/12/10 09:29 PM
Hello,
I think that there is a reason why this cream has been around for so long! It's good! It stands the time test. This is so light and and smells delicious. I love it! It absorbs very fast into the skin. I have combination and when I first purchase this I could not believe it! I mean this was only about $6 at wal-mart. I want to mention that I used some real expensive ones before and this one it is better! Buy it!
Review 10 for Active Hydrating Facial Cream - Original
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Sonia
IL
Age: 35-44
My skin type is: Dry
Sensitive skin: Yes
Using Olay since: 1987

User for over 20 years

Posted on01/23/10 04:48 PM
Love this product! I have been using this product for over 20 years and still get outstanding results. It's an excellent moisturizer, without being greasy.
Review 11 for Active Hydrating Facial Cream - Original
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Roseanne
Ocala, Fl.
My skin type is: Sensitive
Sensitive skin: Yes
Using Olay since: 1970

only one I can use

Posted on01/15/10 10:57 AM
As I have aged my skin got allergic re-actions to many creams. I had used olay products in my youth and gave it another try. Olay active hydrating cream,original is the only one that works. I am so happy I tried it again after so many years. My skin has cleared up and is looking good once again.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Active Hydrating Facial Cream - Original
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Theresa
Albuquerque, NM
Age: 45-54
My skin type is: Combination
Sensitive skin: Yes
Using Olay since: 1973

Have been using this product for over 30 years!

Posted on06/08/09 02:13 PM
I grew up in Arizona and in my teens I became aware of how the dry air was affecting my skin. I couldn't use the same products as my peers because they seemed to have have heavy perfumes and chemicals that made my skin burn and break out . Oil of Olay became my favorite moisturizer because it soaked right into my skin without irritation. My face felt smooth, soft and quenched. Today many people tell me I look much younger than I am. I credit the Oil of Olay product line for that.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Active Hydrating Facial Cream - Original
Overall Rating
4 / 5
4 / 5  stars
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5  stars
Effectiveness
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Ickey75300
Davis, CA
My skin type is: Dry
Using Olay since: 2011
I saw results: Very quickly

Olay cream review

Posted on02/19/14 05:34 PM
This moisturizer made my skin a lot softer! I love this lotion but Olay please make the packaging bigger!
I use up this product really fast and it's really bad for the environment to keep throwing away these hard plastic containers! The small size is good for travel, but not for home.
Review 14 for Active Hydrating Facial Cream - Original
Overall Rating
4 / 5
4 / 5  stars
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Effectiveness
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
BabyFace31
Marysville, CA
Age: 25-34
My skin type is: Combination
Using Olay since: 2013
I saw results: Very quickly

Truly Hydrating

Posted on09/18/13 03:31 PM
I recently move to California where the air is much drier than the humid south, where I'm from.I needed to switch moisturizers because my face was so dry that it began breaking out (I normally have no acne.) Since I've been using this, my face is back to normal and maybe even a little softer! No more dry patches for me!!
Review 15 for Active Hydrating Facial Cream - Original
Overall Rating
3 / 5
3 / 5  stars
Value
2 / 5
2 / 5  stars
Effectiveness
3 / 5
3 / 5  stars
samw
Reno, NV, USA
Age: 45-54
My skin type is: Normal
Using Olay since: 1991
I saw results: As expected

Good moisturizer, but way too much perfume

Posted on06/05/14 01:29 AM
I used to use the Active Hydrating cream for sensitive skin which did not contain fragrance and it was the best moisturizer ever. But for some strange reason, Olay stopped making it. So I tried this, the Active Hydrating original formula. It moisturizes well, but I can't get past all the fragrance. WAY too much perfume! I won't be buying it again.
Review 16 for Active Hydrating Facial Cream - Original
Overall Rating
1 / 5
1 / 5  stars
toodry
Jacksonville,IL
Age: 55-64
My skin type is: Dry
Sensitive skin: Yes
Using Olay since: 1998

Posted on12/04/10 06:03 PM
I am highly disappointed that you have discontinued the sensitive skin face cream. (Blue graphics on jar) It is the only hydrating cream that I have found on the market that is a comfortable excellent facial cream for me. It did not make me red or itchy and did not burn. The pink cream is not near as good. I do not understand why you dropped the other. Now I am back to the way I was before :( Please bring it back. I would even pay more for it.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Active Hydrating Facial Cream - Original
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars