Olay Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Olay Olay Moisturizing Lotion for Sensitive Skin

Olay Olay Moisturizing Lotion for Sensitive Skin

Gives sensitive skin lasting hydration that's 100% fragrance and color-free, leaving skin soft and smooth.Contains aloe and chamomile.
Average Customer Rating:
3.702 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
(47 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
3
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
9
5 / 17(29%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
This area allows consumers like you to express their own opinions and comments. Olay does not represent or warrant the accuracy of any statements or product claims made here, nor endorses any opinions expressed within this section.
Customer Reviews for Olay Moisturizing Lotion for Sensitive Skin
Review 21 for Olay Moisturizing Lotion for Sensitive Skin
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Chicagoland, IL
My skin type is: Dry
Sensitive skin: Yes
Using Olay since: 2004

SPF a disadvantage

Posted on05/05/10 10:51 PM
Dear Olay,
I would like to indicate my preference for the Active Hydrating Sensitive Skin Beauty Fluid product without SPF. I have had challenges finding the version without SPF in the past, but now I fear that this version is on the way out. As a man with dry somewhat sensitive skin, it is obvious why I prefer the Sensitive Skin version of this product (no extra fragrances etc). Perhaps you folks can sell me a case at a discount so I can save some money and get the version I really want/need. Anyway, here is my reasoning. In the winter in Chicago, we don't need SPF (why cut out the slim chance of obtaining some Vitamin D through the facial skin). In the summer, we need SPF on exposed skin but probably more than 15, especially the face during golf. I am a golfer and I use the product on my back and chest in addition to my face (over aloe on face except eyes). The version with SPF does not soothe in the eye area thus it is not usable there. It really does seem a little less cooling in general than the version without SPF. I am going to out to Target to try to find the version without SPF (Jewel/Osco in my area is no longer stocking this version). Currently, I have to grease up with a GNC product at night in order to get eye area soothing and moisturizing. My suggestion: keep the version without SPF going and if possible, offer it in a larger container at a lower price per ounce.
Review 22 for Olay Moisturizing Lotion for Sensitive Skin
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Orange County, CA
Age: 45-54
My skin type is: Sensitive
Sensitive skin: Yes
Using Olay since: 1987

Loyal Till the End

Posted on10/14/09 03:53 PM
Everyone I know can tell you... This is the only moisturizer I will use. I have tried others only to have my loyalty to this product confirmed. Others are usually too heavy, seep into my eyes and coat my contact lenses, and often give me what looks like rosacea. Even the Olay Complete irritates my skin with stinging. Please don't discontinue this product. It is the only one I will ever use!
Review 23 for Olay Moisturizing Lotion for Sensitive Skin
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
massachusetts
Age: 45-54
My skin type is: Sensitive
Sensitive skin: Yes
Using Olay since: 1990

Dont Change it please!

Posted on09/11/09 07:25 AM
I have been using Olay's lotion for senstive skin for countless years. Now my nearby stores sell it in a different looking package and it stings my skin slightly. My eye area has developed dryness and flaking. My skin is soo sensitive and Olay has not only been the only lotion I could ever use, it has kept my skin so young lookin for my age I've gotten so many compliments about not lookiing my age at all!! I am 52. Making new products for sensitive skin is fine..but my skin thrives on the original product.. Keep it PLEASE There is nothing else I can use!
Review 24 for Olay Moisturizing Lotion for Sensitive Skin
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Seattle, WA
My skin type is: Oily
Sensitive skin: Yes
Using Olay since: 2008

Love This Lotion!

Posted on08/21/09 01:04 PM
I love this lotion, it is light, non-greasy, and it doesn't make me break out. I hope they never change the formula because it is perfect as is! Great for soothing sensitive skin like mine. Thanks Olay!
Review 25 for Olay Moisturizing Lotion for Sensitive Skin
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Warren, NJ
Age: 55-64
My skin type is: Oily
Sensitive skin: Yes
Using Olay since: 1963

Only product I use

Posted on07/11/09 04:48 PM
I'm 57 years old and started using the original Oil of Olay daily when it first became available in the US-in the 60's I believe. I now use the moisture therapy lotion for sensitive skin and that's the only product I use. I receive many compliments on my skin. I stay out of the sun, do not smoke or drink, and eat a healthy diet. I have beautiful, soft skin, and no wrinkles. My mother used the same product until her death in 1996 at the age of 83 and she had beautiful skin, also. And perfect, fine-textured skin does not run in our family. We have a tendency toward oily skin with large pores. Olay moisturizes and softens, but does not clog pores. I wash my face with soap twice a day and put on a small amount of Olay each time so there is always a thin coating on my face. I am convinced that this product is the right one for me and I hope it is always available.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Olay Moisturizing Lotion for Sensitive Skin
Overall Rating
4 / 5
4 / 5  stars
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5  stars
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5  stars
CA
Month: May
Year: 1953

Where is the original sensitive with sunscreen?

Posted on08/02/15 08:55 AM
Where is the original sensitive with sunscreen, in the jar? I can't find it!
The pour bottle is not the same product, it's much thinner. Return the jar as originally produced!
Review 27 for Olay Moisturizing Lotion for Sensitive Skin
Overall Rating
4 / 5
4 / 5  stars
Seattle
Age: 25-34
My skin type is: Dry
Sensitive skin: Yes
Using Olay since: 1992

Love this product, but what's with new packaging?

Posted on09/30/11 12:15 AM
I have been using the Olay for sensitive skin forever. I love this product and it makes my skin so soft. However, I've recently had trouble finding it in any of the target stores in my area (There are at least 7) When I do happen to find it, the new bottle is plain white with no color on it. It resembles a cheap, generic version of the lotion. What happened to the color scheme that used to be on the bottles? Almost seems as if a 3rd party is supplying the product. I know that's not the case, but I think it's bad form to have all the other Olay products beautifully designed and the sensitive skin lotion treated like an outcast. Just a thought...from someone who works in the world of marketing.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Olay Moisturizing Lotion for Sensitive Skin
Overall Rating
4 / 5
4 / 5  stars
Atlanta, GA
Age: 55-64
My skin type is: Dry
Sensitive skin: Yes
Using Olay since: 1975

Olay - Sensitive Skin

Posted on12/16/09 07:46 AM
Like so many others, PLEASE bring back the old formula. I have tried the "Complete" and it feels heavy and it burns my eyes. Even if you try very hard to not get it in your eyes sometime during the day you will rub your eyes and then the burning will start.
And the new product does not work as well.
I am about to start looking for another product that will work as well as the old Olay. But I really do not want to but when I run out, I guess I will have to
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Olay Moisturizing Lotion for Sensitive Skin
Overall Rating
3 / 5
3 / 5  stars
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5  stars
Effectiveness
3 / 5
3 / 5  stars
Skin Feel
2 / 5
2 / 5  stars
Cleveland, Ohio
Month: December
Year: 1961
My skin type is: Sensitive

Bring back the old ingredients.

Posted on05/02/16 04:34 PM
This product changed ingredients in early 2015. It was spectacular until then and my daughters and I used it all the time. The ingredients listed above on the website are the old, GOOD ingredients. PLEASE bring them back!!
Review 30 for Olay Moisturizing Lotion for Sensitive Skin
Overall Rating
3 / 5
3 / 5  stars
Apple valley Ca
Age: 18-24

Just started to use

Posted on03/27/15 06:24 PM
It's a lil heavy feeling like you know you just put lotion on but it tends to fade in a couple minutes. Most of all need to improve on the smell of it. It don't smell very good if the smell of it was way better I would continue to get.
Review 31 for Olay Moisturizing Lotion for Sensitive Skin
Overall Rating
3 / 5
3 / 5  stars
Knoxville, TN
Age: 45-54

Sensitive to Titanium Dioxide

Posted on03/03/15 12:48 AM
I'm sensitive to Titanium Dioxide. I don't think the original lotion included it, nor does the scented version. I purposely avoid most sunscreen because of Titanium Dioxide. I'm not sure why you insist on adding it to this lotion. Titanium Dioxide can also discolor clothing. That's probably why you have another reviewer on here who's upset about his ruined shirts.
Review 32 for Olay Moisturizing Lotion for Sensitive Skin
Overall Rating
3 / 5
3 / 5  stars
Knoxville, TN
Age: 45-54

It used to be good

Posted on03/02/15 12:58 PM
I'm sensitive to Titanium Dioxide. I don't think the original lotion included it, nor does the scented version. I purposely avoid most sunscreen because of Titanium Dioxide. I'm not sure why you insist on adding it to this lotion. Titanium Dioxide can also discolor clothing. That's probably why you have another reviewer on here who's upset about his ruined shirts.
Review 33 for Olay Moisturizing Lotion for Sensitive Skin
Overall Rating
3 / 5
3 / 5  stars
Oregon
Age: 25-34
My skin type is: Sensitive
Sensitive skin: Yes
Using Olay since: 1999

Disappointed

Posted on12/06/09 09:34 PM
I have used this product for several years, but then went to purchase another bottle and saw that the packaging had changed. I was so hoping the lotion hadn't changed, but it did. I loved the old lotion and like others was all I could use. The new lotion makes my skin and eyes burn. It also has an irritating fragance. Please, please bring the old lotion back.
Review 34 for Olay Moisturizing Lotion for Sensitive Skin
Overall Rating
2 / 5
2 / 5  stars
Value
2 / 5
2 / 5  stars
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5  stars
Skin Feel
2 / 5
2 / 5  stars
Chicago, IL
Month: February
Year: 1947

Not so much

Posted on11/19/15 11:34 AM
This moisturizer seems thin and kind of watery. I will purchase Olay again but might try a different product, maybe the Regenerist.
Response from Olay:By AmeliaConsumer Relations11/21/15 02:42 PM
Hello Gail,

It's upsetting to learn of your experience. While this particular lotion is thinner in consistency, we wouldn't expect what you described. So we can gather additional details and make this up to you, please call our Skin Care Experts at 1-855-236-3353. They'll be delighted to assist you further; just mention this referral. Our hours are 9AM to 6PM, EST (Monday through Friday). Hope to hear from you soon!
Review 35 for Olay Moisturizing Lotion for Sensitive Skin
Overall Rating
2 / 5
2 / 5  stars
Oregon, IL
My skin type is: Dry
Sensitive skin: Yes
Using Olay since: 2001

Miss the Cream

Posted on11/30/10 11:24 AM
I agree with the reviews below. Olay really doesn't offer a good heavy cream for dry, sensitive skin anymore since they pulled the cream version of this product. They have recommended to me the fragrance free version of the total effects but it is still more of a lotion type of product. Those of us with dry skin like those thick creams. Olay, please bring back or come up with a new cream for dry sensitive skin.
Review 36 for Olay Moisturizing Lotion for Sensitive Skin
Overall Rating
2 / 5
2 / 5  stars
Raleigh, NC
Age: 35-44
My skin type is: Dry
Sensitive skin: Yes
Using Olay since: 1994

Concerned about stained collars

Posted on12/14/09 08:03 AM
I am a 40-something guy who has used Olay's sensitive skin, unscented lotion for years. Huge fan, until lately. Since the new product hit the shelves I have found many shirt collars and t-shirts ruined by a yellow stain on the front of the neck. I would love to be able to retract my suspicion that it's due to the new Olay formula, however the clues point to the lotion. The stains only appear on the front of the collar where lotion is used. They began after my first purchase of the new formula. I do not use any other product.
I have seen other Olay users mention this problem on other web sites. Again, I'm a huge fan of the old lotion formula, so I wanted to share that you really need to check into the staining your new formula appears to cause. I first noticed the stain on a white shirt, but after looking back at my colored summer shirts I've discovered staining on many, which will cost me hundreds of dollars to replace.
Good luck sorting this out.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Olay Moisturizing Lotion for Sensitive Skin
Overall Rating
1 / 5
1 / 5  stars
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5  stars
Effectiveness
1 / 5
1 / 5  stars
Skin Feel
1 / 5
1 / 5  stars
Brighton, MI
Month: January
Year: 1971
My skin type is: Sensitive

Unfortunate

Posted on06/28/16 07:30 PM
I am extremely unhappy with this product. I started using this lotion in my early teens and have since introduced it to my husband and then eventually to our own teenage children. We have been faithful users for many years and for our loyalty, are left looking for another product. The changes you made to this moisturizer are immediately noticed and felt. It is unfortunate, to say the least.
Review 38 for Olay Moisturizing Lotion for Sensitive Skin
Overall Rating
1 / 5
1 / 5  stars
Seattle, WA
Age: 35-44
My skin type is: Sensitive
Sensitive skin: Yes
Using Olay since: 1992

Bring back the cream version!!!

Posted on12/01/10 04:18 PM
Please bring back the cream version of active hydrating sensitive skin! The lotion is not the same! It does not provide the same moisturizing benefits as the cream. The original cream (non sensitive version) is pink and it stinks! I would never use it on my face. If I can't buy the active hydrating cream sensitive skin, I will not buy any Olay product.
Review 39 for Olay Moisturizing Lotion for Sensitive Skin
Overall Rating
1 / 5
1 / 5  stars
indianapolis, IN
Age: 35-44
My skin type is: Dry
Sensitive skin: Yes
Using Olay since: 2001

bring back cream

Posted on09/16/10 04:02 PM
I agree with the review below, the cream was an awesome product. I had used it for years. It moisturized my dry skin so well. I also tried this product once they discontinued the cream and it does not even compare to the cream. Olay tried telling me the lotion version offers the same benefits as the cream version did. Why would you have two products that offered the same benefits? By the way they don't, this lotion does not help dryness really. Dry skin needs creams
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Olay Moisturizing Lotion for Sensitive Skin
Overall Rating
1 / 5
1 / 5  stars
Indiana
Age: 25-34
My skin type is: Dry
Sensitive skin: Yes
Using Olay since: 1997

I liked cream much better

Posted on09/01/10 03:47 PM
Olay recommended this since they discontinued the cream. This is nothing like the cream. This does a horrible job on someone with dry skin. We need thick creams. Please bring back the cream version. Why would you discontinue a classic product
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
prev 1 2 3 next