Olay Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Olay Total Effects blemish control salicylic acid acne cleanser

Olay Total Effects blemish control salicylic acid acne cleanser

Treats with salicylic acid for clean and clear skin
Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(72 Reviews) 67
Open Ratings Snapshot
(72 reviews)
5 stars
65
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
1 / 1(100%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
This area allows consumers like you to express their own opinions and comments. Olay does not represent or warrant the accuracy of any statements or product claims made here, nor endorses any opinions expressed within this section.
Customer Reviews for Total Effects blemish control salicylic acid acne cleanser
Review 1 for Total Effects blemish control salicylic acid acne cleanser
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Effectiveness
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Fray
Randallstown, MD
Age: 45-54
My skin type is: Normal
Using Olay since: 2006
I saw results: As expected

Great product

Posted on06/28/14 09:09 AM
I never had acne before then I start getting adult breakouts which was a result of menopause I use it twice a day I love this products it keeps the break outs away and I've had clear attractive skin since 2006
Review 2 for Total Effects blemish control salicylic acid acne cleanser
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Effectiveness
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Candace
Cincinnati
Age: 25-34
My skin type is: Combination
Using Olay since: 2013
I saw results: Very quickly

Love this!

Posted on02/22/14 12:10 AM
I have been rotating this with the Regenerist Scrub (use this in the am and Regenerist in the pm) and my skin is clearing up! I didn't have many blemishes, but this has helped keep them away. My pores have greatly reduced in size.
I found this at Kroger (which doesn't carry much of the line), so this should be easy to find!
Review 3 for Total Effects blemish control salicylic acid acne cleanser
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Effectiveness
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Sparky
Texas
Age: 55-64
My skin type is: Dry
Using Olay since: 1990
I saw results: Very quickly

Love this product!

Posted on01/29/14 09:25 AM
I am thrilled to see this product has been brought back! I searched for it everywhere. I even had my husband looking in every store he went to, in every town we were working! I finally found 5 tubes in a remote area- bought all 5! This is a wonderful product at a wonderful price. If you have any problems with breakouts - no matter your age- give it a try!
Review 4 for Total Effects blemish control salicylic acid acne cleanser
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Effectiveness
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
citygirl722
pittsburgh, pa
My skin type is: Sensitive
Using Olay since: 2010
I saw results: Faster than expected

amazing results for little price

Posted on12/08/13 05:17 PM
My face has been going crazy because I wasn't able to find this anywhere for over a month. THANK YOU FOR RESTOCKING THIS! It is gentle, yet super effective in clearing my acne, softening my skin and creating an overall radiant glow.
Review 5 for Total Effects blemish control salicylic acid acne cleanser
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Effectiveness
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
demo
Randallstown, MD
Age: 45-54
My skin type is: Normal
Using Olay since: 2006
I saw results: As expected

it's back!!!!!!!

Posted on11/20/13 01:46 PM
I saw the product in a Weis and just purchased 3 today at Walmart....Thank you Olay the best product I've used in so many years that really works
Review 6 for Total Effects blemish control salicylic acid acne cleanser
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Effectiveness
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Suly
Gillette, WY
Age: 25-34
My skin type is: Oily
Using Olay since: 2003
I saw results: Faster than expected

Best Cleanser

Posted on11/03/13 10:04 PM
I have oily skin and breakout. I was a bit skeptical about this product, since no other product (at a reasonable price) in the past had ever worked to help my face without being harsh. This product helped me with my oily skin and my breakouts. My skin felt soft and was not sensitive to touch or sun!
Sadly, I have not been able to find this product any where (at least not for less than $39/bottle on Websites).
Olay please help me, as well as others out there!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Total Effects blemish control salicylic acid acne cleanser
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Effectiveness
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Bekezela
Harrison Twp Michigan
My skin type is: Combination
Using Olay since: 2000
I saw results: Very quickly

Total Effects blemish control salicylic acid acne

Posted on11/02/13 08:03 PM
I have been looking everywhere for this Total Effects blemish control salicylic acid acne cleanser week after week, my skin is going crazy!!!! There is no way that I can try another product. I search for many years even with my doctor, looking for something that would be good to my skin; this is the only product that works on my skin. So please Olay bring it back pretty please. It takes too long and a lot of money to find what works for each person. I hope it will be back soon.
Review 8 for Total Effects blemish control salicylic acid acne cleanser
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Effectiveness
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
newsboy
Memphis, TN
Age: 25-34
My skin type is: Combination
Using Olay since: 2010
I saw results: Very quickly

Don't Worry - It's Coming Back

Posted on10/15/13 11:24 AM
First, this is a great product and despite being irritated at my grandmother several years ago for hinting that I needed to do something about my complexion by telling me that she accidentally bought a bottle and "wondered if I would want to use it"... it has been the best product I have found for my skin type. Shortly after using it, I became a firm believer in the fact that there are specific formulations (and not even just the percentage of Salicylic Acid) that work best for each person's skin.
Second, to everyone that likes the product but has not seen it on shelves recently, I just read that it is temporarily unavailable, but should be back in distribution in mid-November 2013. I wish I had not just bought four bottles on e-bay at twice the retail price... But either way, that is good news.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Total Effects blemish control salicylic acid acne cleanser
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Effectiveness
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
tvs7
St. Paul, MN
Age: 35-44
My skin type is: Combination
Using Olay since: 2000
I saw results: Faster than expected

What happened to this product?

Posted on09/28/13 07:47 PM
I see I'm not the only one unable to find this product. If it has been discontinued, Olay should say so on their website. This is THE best, most effective product I have ever used, and I don't want to waste my money trying 50 new cleansers that don't deliver the same results. I have that frustrating skin type of acne/large pores/fine lines that no other product addresses to the right degree. PLEASE bring this product back to store shelves!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Total Effects blemish control salicylic acid acne cleanser
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Effectiveness
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Snibby
New Jersey
Age: 35-44
My skin type is: Combination
Using Olay since: 1998
I saw results: Very quickly

Where did this go????

Posted on09/27/13 12:19 PM
I LOVE Olay Total Effects Blemish Control with Salicylic Acid, but I haven't been able to find it anywhere for well over a month! Where, oh, where has it gone? Please, please tell me it is not discontinued. I am in the awkward and annoying position of having to fight both wrinkles AND acne. This product is the ONLY thing that has helped. I tried Olay Regenerist, which has salicylic acid as an ingredient, but the formulation just does not work as well on my skin and I am breaking out all over the place.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Total Effects blemish control salicylic acid acne cleanser
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Effectiveness
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
CreativeQt
Washington, DC
Age: 35-44
My skin type is: Combination
Using Olay since: 1990
I saw results: Faster than expected

Where o where did this cleanser go?!?!?!?

Posted on09/22/13 09:58 PM
I have been using this cleanser since its inception and it is THE BEST cleanser on the market and I haven't been able to find it anywhere. I hope that they didn't discontinue it. At least temporarily I was able to find some on eBay thanks to an earlier review posted by Shan.
Review 12 for Total Effects blemish control salicylic acid acne cleanser
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Effectiveness
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Southpaw
New Haven, CT
Age: 25-34
My skin type is: Combination
Using Olay since: 2002
I saw results: Faster than expected

Please bring this product back!

Posted on09/21/13 07:59 PM
I've used this cleanser for years, and it's the only thing that has consistently helped my acne. The formula is so creamy and provides the perfect amount of moisture. The exfoliating beads are also very gentle and don't irritate my very sensitive skin. Please bring this product back in stores! I don't want to have to pay $20+ to buy my favorite cleanser on ebay!
Review 13 for Total Effects blemish control salicylic acid acne cleanser
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Effectiveness
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Dima
Michigan
Age: 45-54
My skin type is: Normal
I saw results: Very quickly

Why can't I find this product anymore?

Posted on09/14/13 11:50 AM
This cleanser makes my skin feel great and even though I am far from my teenage years, I still have breakouts. Now when I look in stores I am unable to find this product. Please tell me it has not been discontinued.
Review 14 for Total Effects blemish control salicylic acid acne cleanser
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Bethie
WI

Great Cleanser

Posted on09/10/13 04:30 PM
My skin really cleared up with this product. Has it been discontinued?
Review 15 for Total Effects blemish control salicylic acid acne cleanser
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Shan
Age: 35-44
My skin type is: Combination
Sensitive skin: No
Using Olay since: 2006

Amazing!! Finally found some!!

Posted on08/07/13 06:52 PM
This product is absolutely amazing!!! The only problem is I cannot find it anywhere! It seems to be sold out online and in stores, but I finally found it on ebay! I was so excited and hope Oil of Olay sends more stock of this product soon!!
Review 16 for Total Effects blemish control salicylic acid acne cleanser
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Allison
Salem, OR
My skin type is: Sensitive
Sensitive skin: Yes
Using Olay since: 2011

Please bring it back!

Posted on07/18/13 07:04 PM
I'm a redhead with extremely sensitive skin, and I have had the hardest time finding something that worked for me. I've tried Proactiv, Neutrogena, Clearasil, Clarins, etc, and none of them worked, so I thought I'd give this a try since I've always had good luck with Olay products.
This cleanser really worked for my skin without drying it out.
However, my tube is on its last leg and I'm really concerned because I can't find it anywhere! Has this cleanser gone the way of my other favorite Olay products like the Silk Whimsy line? I really hope this cleanser will be back in stores, because it's the best cleanser I've used.
Review 17 for Total Effects blemish control salicylic acid acne cleanser
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Rapunzel
Anaheim, CA
Age: 25-34
My skin type is: Normal
Sensitive skin: Yes
Using Olay since: 1992

Where did this go?

Posted on07/15/13 04:55 PM
I love this cleanser, especially in the Summer months as it helps control the oil/sweat from the heat and humidity. I tried buying this last month and no place had it on the shelf. I looked again this Saturday and again, no one had it, or had the place tag for it. Has it been discontinued? If it has (which I really really hope it hasn't), will there be another one to replace the functions of this?
Review 18 for Total Effects blemish control salicylic acid acne cleanser
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
dbtx
tx
Age: 25-34
My skin type is: Sensitive
Sensitive skin: Yes
Using Olay since: 1990

please bring it back

Posted on07/08/13 12:59 PM
I have used the Total Effects blemish control salicylic acid acne cleanser since the last few years and it has been a godsend for my sensitive acne-prone skin with just the right amount of exfoliation, cleansing and preventing breakouts along with taking care of existing blemishes without over drying or irritating the skin.
however I have been unable to find it anywhere - online or in stores. please bring this back quickly!!
Review 19 for Total Effects blemish control salicylic acid acne cleanser
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
jackie10
Brooklyn, NY
Age: 35-44
My skin type is: Normal
Sensitive skin: Yes
Using Olay since: 1999

I've been lost without this product!!

Posted on07/01/13 04:30 PM
I have been using Olay products for years now (introduced to me by my mother and grandmother). I never really suffered from acne exactly, but certainly had the all-too-occassional giant zit or cluster of pimples, especially around that time of the month. I tried this product probably about 2 years ago and have been a fan ever since! This was my one and only cleanser...I never strayed or tried anything new. Then, I started having a difficult time finding it on the drug store shelves. When I would find it, I would buy 2-3 bottles at a time. Then, eventually I could not find it anywhere, so I was forced to try other products. None of them worked like this cleanser. The pimples were coming back with a vengence. I have been lost without this product until it dawned on me to go to the Olay website, and to my absolute happiness, here it is! This product has made me feel more confident and in control of my skin. I am buying several bottles today. Highly, highly recommended!
Review 20 for Total Effects blemish control salicylic acid acne cleanser
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
happynewlywed
Farmington, MN
Age: 25-34
My skin type is: Oily
Sensitive skin: Yes
Using Olay since: 2011

Best Investment

Posted on03/18/13 07:45 PM
I have suffered with acne and undesireable skin since middle school and have literally tried everything with no success. A couple months before my wedding I decided to try the Total Effects Blemish Control in a desperate attempt to obtain the skin I have always wanted. My skin was smooth and blemish free for the big day. I have been using it now for almost a year and couldn't be happier with my skin. Not only is my skin blemish free, BLEMISH FREE, but it's smooth, my pores are smaller, and it looks healthier. After more than 10 years of shameful skin I finally have confident, beautiful skin I am proud to show off. Thank you OLAY!
1 2 3 4 next