Olay Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Olay Total Effects blemish control salicylic acid acne cleanser

Olay Total Effects blemish control salicylic acid acne cleanser

Treats with salicylic acid for clean and clear skin
Average Customer Rating:
4.852 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(81 Reviews) 76
Open Ratings Snapshot
(81 reviews)
5 stars
74
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
1 / 10(10%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
This area allows consumers like you to express their own opinions and comments. Olay does not represent or warrant the accuracy of any statements or product claims made here, nor endorses any opinions expressed within this section.
Customer Reviews for Total Effects blemish control salicylic acid acne cleanser
Review 1 for Total Effects blemish control salicylic acid acne cleanser
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
honemo
San Antonio, TX
Month: April
Year: 1975
Received Free Product: No

Excellent Product

Posted on07/25/15 10:29 PM
I have been looking for this everywhere. It is the only cleanser I have been using for years. Why is it discontinued?? I have oily skin and still suffer from occasional breakouts at middle-age. This is the only product that did not dry out my skin as most acne face wash products do. Please bring this back.
Review 2 for Total Effects blemish control salicylic acid acne cleanser
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
VAZUL
TAMPA,FL
Month: November
Year: 1979
Received Free Product: No

PLEASE DON'T DISCONTINUE THIS AMAZING PRODUCT!!!

Posted on07/20/15 08:06 PM
IT'S THE ONLY CLEANSER I'VE BEEN USING FOR YEARS. RESULTS ARE WONDERFUL. WHY ARE THEY DISCONTINUING IT???
Review 3 for Total Effects blemish control salicylic acid acne cleanser
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Christina76
Fair oaks, CA
Month: March
Year: 1976
Received Free Product: No

dont go!!!

Posted on07/17/15 02:35 PM
This is my favorite one and only face wash i use!! Its the best,please dont take it away!!!!love total effects blemish control. I DO recommend this product 100%-for some reason i hit yes recommend, but the button only says no?
Review 4 for Total Effects blemish control salicylic acid acne cleanser
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
LJ59
tampa Florida
Month: August
Year: 1955
Received Free Product: No

Sad

Posted on07/17/15 04:51 AM
This product has been truly wonderful for me. I have shopped all around trying to locate this wonderful cleanser. It has miraculous features. I recommended to my daughter and was sad to find out you have discontinued. Please advise your customers why.
Review 5 for Total Effects blemish control salicylic acid acne cleanser
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
lalaromero
Stockton, CA
Month: August
Year: 1973
Received Free Product: No

Please do not discontinue

Posted on07/14/15 01:12 PM
I love this face wash. Will you be making a similar product?
Review 6 for Total Effects blemish control salicylic acid acne cleanser
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Bunnies63
PA
Month: October
Year: 1963
Received Free Product: No

I love this product

Posted on07/07/15 05:25 PM
Please, please, please bring back do not discontinue. I love this Item, total effects for blemishes is gentle on my face, I am 50 and help rid my adult reaccuring pimples. I really hate to see this product discontinued it is part of my beauty regimine.
Review 7 for Total Effects blemish control salicylic acid acne cleanser
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Nanny64
Crockett, Texas
Month: July
Year: 1964
Received Free Product: No

Please Don't GO!!!!

Posted on07/06/15 11:57 AM
I've been using this Blemish Acne Cleanser for about 3 yrs. I really like the way it works. PLEASE DON'T TAKE IT AWAY!!! I can never find it in the stores any more. BRING IT BACK!!!!
Review 8 for Total Effects blemish control salicylic acid acne cleanser
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
happyohio
ohio
Month: March
Year: 1968
Received Free Product: No

please don't discontinue!

Posted on06/29/15 09:52 PM
After YEARS of constant acne at age 47- I started using this because I was needing to find something economical to use and have tried every expensive product. I've been using this for 6 months and my face is CLEAR! PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE don't discontinue this!!!!
Review 9 for Total Effects blemish control salicylic acid acne cleanser
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Bree
Boston, MA
Age: 18-24

Amazing Acne Cleanser!

Posted on01/20/15 09:46 AM
I have been using this cleanser for about a month, morning and night, and I absolutely love it! It helps clear up blemishes, makes my skin look and feel soft and hydrated, and takes away that dull look to brighten my skin. I like how it has anti-aging benefits as well!
Review 10 for Total Effects blemish control salicylic acid acne cleanser
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Effectiveness
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Fray
Randallstown, MD
Age: 45-54
My skin type is: Normal
Using Olay since: 2006
I saw results: As expected

Great product

Posted on06/28/14 09:09 AM
I never had acne before then I start getting adult breakouts which was a result of menopause I use it twice a day I love this products it keeps the break outs away and I've had clear attractive skin since 2006
Review 11 for Total Effects blemish control salicylic acid acne cleanser
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Effectiveness
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Candace
Cincinnati
Age: 25-34
My skin type is: Combination
Using Olay since: 2013
I saw results: Very quickly

Love this!

Posted on02/22/14 12:10 AM
I have been rotating this with the Regenerist Scrub (use this in the am and Regenerist in the pm) and my skin is clearing up! I didn't have many blemishes, but this has helped keep them away. My pores have greatly reduced in size.
I found this at Kroger (which doesn't carry much of the line), so this should be easy to find!
Review 12 for Total Effects blemish control salicylic acid acne cleanser
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Effectiveness
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Sparky
Texas
Age: 55-64
My skin type is: Dry
Using Olay since: 1990
I saw results: Very quickly

Love this product!

Posted on01/29/14 09:25 AM
I am thrilled to see this product has been brought back! I searched for it everywhere. I even had my husband looking in every store he went to, in every town we were working! I finally found 5 tubes in a remote area- bought all 5! This is a wonderful product at a wonderful price. If you have any problems with breakouts - no matter your age- give it a try!
Review 13 for Total Effects blemish control salicylic acid acne cleanser
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Effectiveness
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
citygirl722
pittsburgh, pa
My skin type is: Sensitive
Using Olay since: 2010
I saw results: Faster than expected

amazing results for little price

Posted on12/08/13 05:17 PM
My face has been going crazy because I wasn't able to find this anywhere for over a month. THANK YOU FOR RESTOCKING THIS! It is gentle, yet super effective in clearing my acne, softening my skin and creating an overall radiant glow.
Review 14 for Total Effects blemish control salicylic acid acne cleanser
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Effectiveness
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
demo
Randallstown, MD
Age: 45-54
My skin type is: Normal
Using Olay since: 2006
I saw results: As expected

it's back!!!!!!!

Posted on11/20/13 01:46 PM
I saw the product in a Weis and just purchased 3 today at Walmart....Thank you Olay the best product I've used in so many years that really works
Review 15 for Total Effects blemish control salicylic acid acne cleanser
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Effectiveness
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Suly
Gillette, WY
Age: 25-34
My skin type is: Oily
Using Olay since: 2003
I saw results: Faster than expected

Best Cleanser

Posted on11/03/13 10:04 PM
I have oily skin and breakout. I was a bit skeptical about this product, since no other product (at a reasonable price) in the past had ever worked to help my face without being harsh. This product helped me with my oily skin and my breakouts. My skin felt soft and was not sensitive to touch or sun!
Sadly, I have not been able to find this product any where (at least not for less than $39/bottle on Websites).
Olay please help me, as well as others out there!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Total Effects blemish control salicylic acid acne cleanser
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Effectiveness
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Bekezela
Harrison Twp Michigan
My skin type is: Combination
Using Olay since: 2000
I saw results: Very quickly

Total Effects blemish control salicylic acid acne

Posted on11/02/13 08:03 PM
I have been looking everywhere for this Total Effects blemish control salicylic acid acne cleanser week after week, my skin is going crazy!!!! There is no way that I can try another product. I search for many years even with my doctor, looking for something that would be good to my skin; this is the only product that works on my skin. So please Olay bring it back pretty please. It takes too long and a lot of money to find what works for each person. I hope it will be back soon.
Review 17 for Total Effects blemish control salicylic acid acne cleanser
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Effectiveness
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
newsboy
Memphis, TN
Age: 25-34
My skin type is: Combination
Using Olay since: 2010
I saw results: Very quickly

Don't Worry - It's Coming Back

Posted on10/15/13 11:24 AM
First, this is a great product and despite being irritated at my grandmother several years ago for hinting that I needed to do something about my complexion by telling me that she accidentally bought a bottle and "wondered if I would want to use it"... it has been the best product I have found for my skin type. Shortly after using it, I became a firm believer in the fact that there are specific formulations (and not even just the percentage of Salicylic Acid) that work best for each person's skin.
Second, to everyone that likes the product but has not seen it on shelves recently, I just read that it is temporarily unavailable, but should be back in distribution in mid-November 2013. I wish I had not just bought four bottles on e-bay at twice the retail price... But either way, that is good news.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Total Effects blemish control salicylic acid acne cleanser
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Effectiveness
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
tvs7
St. Paul, MN
Age: 35-44
My skin type is: Combination
Using Olay since: 2000
I saw results: Faster than expected

What happened to this product?

Posted on09/28/13 07:47 PM
I see I'm not the only one unable to find this product. If it has been discontinued, Olay should say so on their website. This is THE best, most effective product I have ever used, and I don't want to waste my money trying 50 new cleansers that don't deliver the same results. I have that frustrating skin type of acne/large pores/fine lines that no other product addresses to the right degree. PLEASE bring this product back to store shelves!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Total Effects blemish control salicylic acid acne cleanser
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Effectiveness
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Snibby
New Jersey
Age: 35-44
My skin type is: Combination
Using Olay since: 1998
I saw results: Very quickly

Where did this go????

Posted on09/27/13 12:19 PM
I LOVE Olay Total Effects Blemish Control with Salicylic Acid, but I haven't been able to find it anywhere for well over a month! Where, oh, where has it gone? Please, please tell me it is not discontinued. I am in the awkward and annoying position of having to fight both wrinkles AND acne. This product is the ONLY thing that has helped. I tried Olay Regenerist, which has salicylic acid as an ingredient, but the formulation just does not work as well on my skin and I am breaking out all over the place.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Total Effects blemish control salicylic acid acne cleanser
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Effectiveness
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
CreativeQt
Washington, DC
Age: 35-44
My skin type is: Combination
Using Olay since: 1990
I saw results: Faster than expected

Where o where did this cleanser go?!?!?!?

Posted on09/22/13 09:58 PM
I have been using this cleanser since its inception and it is THE BEST cleanser on the market and I haven't been able to find it anywhere. I hope that they didn't discontinue it. At least temporarily I was able to find some on eBay thanks to an earlier review posted by Shan.
1 2 3 4 next