Olay Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Olay
Shop Miscellaneous or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Olay Pro-X Clear Acne Protocol

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Olay.

Olay Pro-X Clear Acne Protocol

A 3-step protocol that uses proven technology to reduce and help prevent blemishes and breakouts for consistently clear skin
Average Customer Rating:
4.179 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(67 Reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
(67 reviews)
5 stars
35
4 stars
21
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
4
This area allows consumers like you to express their own opinions and comments. Olay does not represent or warrant the accuracy of any statements or product claims made here, nor endorses any opinions expressed within this section.
Customer Reviews for Pro-X Clear Acne Protocol
Review 1 for Pro-X Clear Acne Protocol
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
meylinda
topeka, ks
Age: 25-34
My skin type is: Combination
Sensitive skin: Yes
Using Olay since: 2011

best purchase ever

Posted on05/13/13 01:09 AM
I really disappointed with the discontinued of this product, because I have been struggling with acne for years and this is the only product that worked for me. I was so excited when I found olay pro x acne because my skin was acne-free. Now I have to struggling with acne again. Not only me, but my two other friends that used this product also feel really disappointed.I hope olay would consider their decision again
Review 2 for Pro-X Clear Acne Protocol
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Rochelle
New York, NY
Age: 25-34
My skin type is: Normal
Sensitive skin: No
Using Olay since: 2010

Best Adult Acne Preventer

Posted on04/18/13 11:56 AM
I am deeply dismayed to find out that you have discontinued the Pro X Clear. This was the only product that ever kept my skin clear. I was getting stress related acne due to the demands of writing a dissertation. Using a Google search I found out about Pro X Clear. This has been almost two years and nothing worked as the Pro C Clear—not even the high end online available only products performed as well. I have often recommended it to other women who complained that nothing else worked. Moreover, since using it I have gotten so many compliments on my skin. I absolutely attributed it to the products.
A customer representative informed me that it has been discontinued due to poor sales. Part of the reason for this was despite its stellar performance it was neither advertised nor marketed well. The only ads I saw online. If more people knew about it, it probably would have sold well. In addition, it should have been marketed to women in their mid-twenties and older. So many of us suffer from stress related acne and nothing works consistently. Not all of us in this demographic are concerned with anti-aging, which seems to take up the bulk of your advertising. Nor are we “fresh” teens with hormonal acne.
Although not for me, another issue related to the poor sales of the product is the cost. If the items were sold separately many more women would purchase it. Personally, I found that the Pore Minimizing Cleanser and Scrub performed better for my skin than the Pro X Clear Pore Clarifying Cleanser. Repackaging the Pro X Clear with just the treatment and lotion may boost the sales.
I urge you to reconsider your decision to discontinue the Pro X Clear or at least consider bringing back the Skin Clearing Treatment and Complexion Renewing lotion as a pair. So many non-teen acne sufferers need this product.
Review 3 for Pro-X Clear Acne Protocol
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
AKathleenP
Cleveland, OH
Age: 35-44
My skin type is: Combination
Sensitive skin: Yes
Using Olay since: 2011

Glad I Didn't Give Up

Posted on10/29/12 06:20 PM
I'm 44 yrs old and have struggled with acne since age 11. In my 20s I received steroid injections and took tetracycline. In my 30s I tried other major remedies which were too harsh before giving up. I've been using this for 13 months now and can say my skin has never felt healthier. It did take just over two months before I saw positive results. So for anyone who's not seeing results I would urge them to keep using it for at least two months before giving up.
Review 4 for Pro-X Clear Acne Protocol
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
makeupguru
Central Connecticut
Age: 25-34
My skin type is: Oily
Sensitive skin: Yes
Using Olay since: 2006

My search is over!

Posted on09/26/12 01:06 AM
It has taken me a while to write a review for these products because I really wanted to put them to the test. My reasoning behind this is due to the fact that, like many, I have tried so many acne lines in the past including; Proactiv, Murad, Peter Thomas Roth, Philosophy, Bliss, and I could literally go on forever.
Last Christmas (2011), I thought I’d give this product a try. It took around 2 weeks to really start to notice a change, as I suffer from painful cystic acne around my jawline, chin, and cheeks. The first of many things I loved about this line was it did not dry my skin out. I firmly believe that it is due to the fact that of the lower level of salicylic acid. The cleanser is just unbelievable and at first, I was using too much because of the unusual creaminess of it. So many other cleansers are harsh and stripe my skin. This cleanser is the exception to the rule.
Next, my favorite part of the line is the skin clearing treatment. Again, it didn’t seem possible that it would work once I put it on my skin because not only how silky it went on, but for the fact that it didn’t cause irritation and dryness. In the past, I thought that’s how “treatment” products worked. This skin clearing treatment is just phenomenal.
Last but not least, the complexion renewing lotion. This is another amazing formulation that complements the Pro-X line beautifully.
If anyone is on the fence about this product, just try it. Olay has been around for years and has a proven track record of making women’s skin beautiful! Thank you Olay for my miracle!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pro-X Clear Acne Protocol
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
SacLexi
Sacramento, CA
Age: 45-54
My skin type is: Oily
Sensitive skin: Yes

My 40-something Skin is the Best Ever

Posted on07/23/12 11:47 AM
I have 40-something skin and have struggled for years with the cycle of breakouts and overdrying. This product is the first "system" I've used that helps control my acne AND softens both the feeling and appearance of my skin. It's a delicate balance to hydrate aging skin and reduce breakouts at the same time. This system has done the trick! I'd recommend ProX-Clear to any adult who struggles with hydrating acne prone skin.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pro-X Clear Acne Protocol
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
MissPennyLane
Long Island, NY
My skin type is: Oily
Sensitive skin: Yes
Using Olay since: 2011

MIRACLE WORKER!!

Posted on07/13/12 10:09 PM
For as long as I could remember, I have always had sensitive acne prone skin. I have tried everything over the counter and even perscriptions. NOTHING worked. It got to the point where I pretty much gave up. I decided to give this a try last August and OH MY GOODNESS my skin is NEAR PERFECT now! I really only get a few hormonal blemishes once a month and I have actually have people tell me my skin is beautiful! ME? Ohhh wow! This stuff is the most amazing acne kit I've ever come across. I've even reccommended it to my friends and they've tried it and loved it too! THANK YOU SO MUCH OLAY FOR MAKING MY SKIN BEAUTIFUL! = )
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pro-X Clear Acne Protocol
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Onelove
Orlando, FL
Age: 25-34
My skin type is: Combination
Sensitive skin: Yes
Using Olay since: 1999

Fabulous product!!!!

Posted on06/01/12 10:57 AM
I have always had acne. I have tried so many different products. This is the first product that does not strip my skin and irritate it. I only use step 1 and 2. Step 3 makes my skin appear oily. I absolutely love it though!!! I do have the same issue as many other users. I wish I could purchase the cleaner separately. I always run out of cleaner!
Review 8 for Pro-X Clear Acne Protocol
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
midge2819
Age: 25-34
My skin type is: Oily
Sensitive skin: Yes

Fabulous - But Need to Sell Separately

Posted on05/29/12 03:01 PM
This product is fabulous and has worked wonders on my face. It has cleared up my jawline acne better than anything i've tried before, but at the same time is not to harsh on my more "grown up" skin. The biggest problem I have is that I cannot buy the cleanser separately. I have a backstock of the treatment and the lotion, and hate to have to buy another whole set in order to get the cleanser. I'm considering buying some other cleanser, but can't seem to find another cream, non-foaming, salicylic acid cleanser without scrubbing beads to replace it. The fact that I can't buy this product separately has me really annoyed.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pro-X Clear Acne Protocol
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Neetu
Columbus, OH
Age: 35-44
My skin type is: Normal
Sensitive skin: Yes
Using Olay since: 2000

Effective

Posted on05/12/12 01:47 PM
I don't have real bad acne, just occasional break outs. But I had a bad case of breakouts last week and felt very self conscious about it so I was in the market for an acne treatment. I read good reviews about this line and purchased it right away. Overnight, I felt it made such a difference. In the next couple days, my breakouts were clear. Now, I feel like I have my skin glow back. This stuff works, it's effective and no annoying drying or flaking. It was worth the money. For how great it works, this is a great product I would recommend to all those that have any breakout issues. Highly recommended.
Review 10 for Pro-X Clear Acne Protocol
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
missash
Atlanta, GA
Age: 25-34
My skin type is: Combination
Sensitive skin: Yes
Using Olay since: 2011

LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!

Posted on01/04/12 08:45 AM
BEST acne product EVER! None-Drying of the skin,GENTLE
Review 11 for Pro-X Clear Acne Protocol
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Dest
Missouri
Age: 25-34
My skin type is: Combination
Sensitive skin: Yes
Using Olay since: 2011

Best purchase I have made yet

Posted on12/27/11 10:13 AM
I have tried all name brands of Acne medication kits and none of them worked. One day I sent away for a sample of the Pro X Clear and I fell in love with it. It instantly took the redness out of all the breakouts that I had, dried them up and cleared them within 48 hours. This stuff is amazing and I will never buy any other product besides this for the rest of my life. This might be alittle pricey but it is definitely worth the money. Just trust me on this one!
Review 12 for Pro-X Clear Acne Protocol
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Robynbeth
Kentucky
Age: 35-44
My skin type is: Combination
Sensitive skin: No
Using Olay since: 1998

Pro-X Clear Works

Posted on12/20/11 09:08 AM
In my teens, my skin was wonderful. Never had a problem until my second child when I was 30. For nine years, I have battled breakout after breakout. I bought this product in frustration, and within three days, the pimples were almost completely gone, and the redness was fading. I have been using it for almost two months now, and my skin looks wonderful once again. I have gone from my stepson thinking I had chicken pox to wearing no makeup in public.
Review 13 for Pro-X Clear Acne Protocol
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Anonymous
Oxnard, CA.
Age: 25-34
My skin type is: Oily
Sensitive skin: Yes
Using Olay since: 2011

Awesome!

Posted on12/08/11 11:31 AM
The ONLY thing that has helped my skin so far!
During summer of 2010 my fairly clear skin went bezerk and I began to break out, mainly along my temples and forehead. For about a year, it began to get worse and worse, and by September this year, my skin was at it's ultimate lowest point. For the first time I was actually breaking out on my cheeks(which had never happened) and along my jawline, scars were darker and were lasting longer. By then I had tried using Philosophy, the body shop, Origins, Khiels, Clinique, and DDF.. none of it improved my skin! =( Finally, after seeing a few ads of Olay ProX online, decided to give it a try and now I'm so glad I did. My skin has stopped breaking out, no more pimples on my cheeks, my skin is once again smooth, and my acne scars are getting lighter. I am extremely happy with the results of this product!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pro-X Clear Acne Protocol
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
smt12387
Orlando, FL
My skin type is: Combination
Sensitive skin: Yes
Using Olay since: 2011

Amazing Product!!

Posted on12/02/11 08:09 PM
I am 24 years old and I've been battling acne since I was 13. I've gone to multiple dermatologists, tried dozens of products, gotten facials and treatments, and even been put on prescription acne products, but NOTHING worked for me. Every other acne product system, gel, or cream Ive ever tried barely got rid of any pimples and left my skin so dry that it would actually peel. It was a never ending horrible cycle where i would use the products and a few minor pimples would disappear but my skin would get so unbelievably dry and chapped that I would have to stop using them. A day after I stopped, the acne would come right back. I never had the clear, perfect, scar-free skin that all those products promised. Then my Mom showed up at house one day with the Olay Pro-X Clear System. She had read about it in a magazine and decided to buy it for me. I was skeptical, because I honestly thought there was no hope for my skin, and that it was going to be just like every other 3-step system I had ever tried. Wow, was I wrong! Within a few days of using these products, I could already see a huge difference in my skin. It was becoming so much clearer, and it wasn't becoming dry or irritated at all. The cleanser is amazing, whenever I use it to wash my face, it leaves my face feeling so soft and clean, without that soapy, drying feeling. The acne medication is awesome too. Usually salicylic acid formulas leave my skin so tight-feeling and leave almost a chalky residue all over my skin, but not this one! Its light and easy on my face while doing its job of clearing up acne. Finally, the lotion (which i was surprised to see is more of a gel than an actual lotion) is probably my favorite product of the bunch. It is light and moisturizes my face so well without ever feeling oily or greasy. Using all these products in conjunction has honestly given me the best skin of my life. I have zero (!!) scarring left on my face, it is perfectly clear and it is also perfectly moisturized. I would completely recommend this product to anyone who has had the same problems as me. Ive
been using it for 4 months now and couldn't be
happier. This system is priced relatively the same
as many other well-known 3-step acne systems, but believe me, it is well worth every penny. I honestly have not felt comfortable in my own skin without having to glob on foundation, powder, and concealer, since I was a young teenager. This product has not only cleared my skin, but its given me my confidence back, and for that I could not be more thankful. It is amazing!
Review 15 for Pro-X Clear Acne Protocol
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
LayneeLou
Age: 35-44
My skin type is: Combination
Sensitive skin: Yes
Using Olay since: 2011

AMAZED!

Posted on11/27/11 07:59 PM
I was desperate to find something to control the breakouts on my chin. I decided to take a chance and spend the extra money on Olay Pro-X Clear Acne Protocol. After the first use, I could tell my skin reacted differently to this cleanser than what I normally use. And after a week, my breakouts were mostly under control. Then, at just about two weeks of morning and evening use, I looked in the mirror after rinsing my face and realized that the deep wrinkle between my eyes (the ONLY wrinkle that actually bugs me) was much less noticeable. And then I really took a look at my face. My forehead was smoother, my neck was smoother. I was elated! Then, as luck would have it, I found out that my 20th High School Reunion was happening in two weeks. I got so many compliments on my skin that night. I'm so happy I took the chance and really followed the directions. I tell everyone about this product line.
Review 16 for Pro-X Clear Acne Protocol
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
McKnight
Torrington, WY
My skin type is: Sensitive
Sensitive skin: Yes
Using Olay since: 2011

New Favorite Products

Posted on11/25/11 11:45 AM
I immediately noticed my skin appeared less red after the first use. Also, the products feel great on my face and a little goes a long ways. It has cleared my skin up noticeably and I am excited to see how good my face will look after giving the products some time to work. At this rate, I will never use Proactive again. I feel like these are better for my skin.
Review 17 for Pro-X Clear Acne Protocol
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Dalia
Killeen, TX
Age: 25-34
My skin type is: Oily
Sensitive skin: Yes
Using Olay since: 2011

Best product I have used - Hands down!

Posted on11/18/11 06:04 PM
I have struggled with acne for about 9 years now and have used everything out on the market. I was losing hope, but decided to give this a try and after just one week my acne has drastically improved. I still have some, but I can see clear improvement. This is something that I have unable to get from many other cleansers that have promised clear skin. I would highly recommend this product.
Review 18 for Pro-X Clear Acne Protocol
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
CelebriDiva
Montclair, NJ
Age: 25-34
My skin type is: Combination
Sensitive skin: Yes
Using Olay since: 2011

Perfection

Posted on11/13/11 12:59 AM
As a Makeup Artist I am always looking for the best product for every situation. Since the age of 21 I have noticed a decline in my skin's appearance. I am an asian woman at the age of thirty with consistent breakouts that yields dry, dehydrated skin. I am one to invest in skincare spending as much as $600 at a time at the Amore Pacific counter (prestigious Korean Skincare sold at Nieman Marcus) So when that line wasnt cutting it, i was willing to spend about $40 on a 3-piece line that was easily accessible. My skin was literally TRANSFORMED OVERNIGHT and seems to improve everyday! Acne shrunk and completely dissipated within a few short days and the dryness was dissolved instantly all while preventing premature aging! My skin was soft, supple, bright and refreshed after the first application. I urge all to try and be amazed!
Review 19 for Pro-X Clear Acne Protocol
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Dinka
Mauldin, SC
Age: 35-44
My skin type is: Oily
Sensitive skin: No
Using Olay since: 2011

Happy Face!!!!!

Posted on11/05/11 12:05 PM
I have been using ProX Clear for a few days. Before I started out with 6 inflamed pimples on my face. Three days later they are gone, now my skin is healing. I expect while continually cleansing my skin I will have smaller whiteheads to pop up as my skin goes through the clearing phase. This product is truly amazing and I thank Olay and my Mom for recommending it to me. I can't wait for my dark spots to lightened and blend in with my skin tone.
The best part is that this is not burning and stinging while washing with the cleanser or applying the clearing treatment. The greatest gift was that I receive a free ProX exfoliating cleanser with my purchase. My fellow Olay users they are listening to our comments. Thank you all for posting; I love reeping benefits. I am trying to remember less is more when using all of the products. I am hoping for no breakouts when next month comes around. This product is a keeper for sure.
Review 20 for Pro-X Clear Acne Protocol
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
arika
cross, sc
My skin type is: Oily
Sensitive skin: Yes
Using Olay since: 2011

Extremely Pleased!

Posted on11/01/11 07:59 PM
I bought this product because my teenage acne that i thought i had finaly beaten had returned with a vengence. After filling my cabinets with a bunch of products that just didnt cut it I gave in and tried Olay. It is a little pricey, but really worth every penny. Ive only been using it for a little over a week and my usual monthly break out was wiped out, and my skin is looking so much better. My skin tone is evening out and i am seeing much fewer blackheads in my trusty magifying mirror, which is alot less scary to look at now! Im excited to see how this product will help my skin after a couple months use.
1 2 3 4 next