Olay Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Olay
Shop Miscellaneous or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Olay Total Effect Line & Dark Circle Minimizing Brush

Olay Total Effect Line & Dark Circle Minimizing Brush

Minimizes the appearance of dark circles and fine lines for younger-looking eyes.
Average Customer Rating:
1.544 out of 5
1.5
 out of 
5
(57 Reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
(57 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
45
This area allows consumers like you to express their own opinions and comments. Olay does not represent or warrant the accuracy of any statements or product claims made here, nor endorses any opinions expressed within this section.
Customer Reviews for Total Effect Line & Dark Circle Minimizing Brush
Review 1 for Total Effect Line & Dark Circle Minimizing Brush
Overall Rating
1 / 5
1 / 5  stars
ASU9
Age: 25-34
My skin type is: Dry
Sensitive skin: Yes
Using Olay since: 1999

Does not work

Posted on07/08/13 02:09 AM
Received this for Christmas as a stocking stuffer one year. Product goes on easily and I liked the built in brush. Color was too dark for my skin tone and does not blend easily. Did not conceal the dark circles. Would not purchase for myself.
Review 2 for Total Effect Line & Dark Circle Minimizing Brush
Overall Rating
1 / 5
1 / 5  stars
lovejones
Georgia
Age: 35-44
My skin type is: Sensitive
Sensitive skin: Yes
Using Olay since: 1992

Ratings comment

Posted on03/28/13 08:13 AM
I have used olay products ritualistically from bath to face care. I am glad I reviewed comments regarding this product before purchasing. Skin care is very important.. Our face is the first aspect of a person seen and evaluated (in a sense), it endures all elements, issues, and it is essential products "do what they say". I was also searching for products that would work on my spouse's skin. He has under eye circles and I love olay products and thought this would work, but does not seem to be the product that meets my specific needs or requirements. I will continue my search for an effective eye treatment.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Total Effect Line & Dark Circle Minimizing Brush
Overall Rating
1 / 5
1 / 5  stars
flawlessskin
Scranton, PA
Age: 55-64
My skin type is: Normal
Sensitive skin: No
Using Olay since: 1992

Extremely disappointed

Posted on03/03/13 06:46 PM
I bought this thinking it would be comparable to Oil of Olay Eye Illuminating Cream to treat dark circles, which OofO stopped making. Was I ever wrong. Big costly mistake. This is the worst I ever used it and now I am hesitant about using anything from Olay. Here is what I don't understand, if a product is working and customers like it, why try to fix it? Very disappointed. This did not work, and didn't work for several other co-workers in my office.
Why is Oil of Olay getting so pricey in their products when they are sold in Wal-Mart and drugstores? P&G is shooting themselves in the foot thinking women can afford this. if they can they will go to Macy's and Neiman Marcus.
So we have since moved on to Clinique new item and also HSN's Serious Skin Care with Haloxyl.
I wasted good hard earned money on this.
TOTALLY DISAPPOINTED.
Review 4 for Total Effect Line & Dark Circle Minimizing Brush
Overall Rating
1 / 5
1 / 5  stars
TinTin
Richmond, VA
Age: 35-44
My skin type is: Normal
Sensitive skin: No
Using Olay since: 2005

Very Disappointed

Posted on02/21/13 02:22 PM
I'm kicking myself that I didn't read the reviews here before purchasing the Total Effects Line & Dark Circle Minimizing brush. I purchased it after reading about it in "Real Simple" magazine and am so disappointed I wasted $22 on this product. If anything, it makes my circles and wrinkles look worse! The liquid is so dark and looks very unnatural around my eyes and does absolutely nothing to minimize the lines. I've been happy with almost all Olay products in the past, but this one is a big miss.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Total Effect Line & Dark Circle Minimizing Brush
Overall Rating
1 / 5
1 / 5  stars
Abby1
Grand Rapids MI
Age: 45-54
My skin type is: Normal
Sensitive skin: No
Using Olay since: 1995

Product didn't perform as expected

Posted on12/26/12 11:55 AM
As a longtime user of Olay products, I am very disappointed in this product. I have used it faithfully for three months, following the directions on the box carefully. The dark circles under my eyes have not lightened at all, and it also doesn't do anything to cover them up. The cost of the product is high for a drugstore brand. For just a little more, I can but a similar product at a department store, and they will gladly refund the cost or exchange the product if I'm not satisfied. I would not recommend this product!
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Total Effect Line & Dark Circle Minimizing Brush
Overall Rating
1 / 5
1 / 5  stars
missmedic
Raleigh, NC
Age: 35-44
My skin type is: Combination
Sensitive skin: No
Using Olay since: 2005

Disappoined

Posted on06/07/12 03:19 PM
As a paramedic we rarely if ever wear sunglasses and as a result I have accumalated a few very fine lines around my eyes. I bought this product in hopes of lessening, minimizing and/or making less obvious the little lines around my eyes. Not so much. I have been using it religiously for 4 wks now and have seen no change. At $22.50, I can't afford to buy products that don't do what they say they will. Save your pennies and remember your sunglasses if you're in your 20's. Once you're in your 40's they don't go away that easily.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Olay:By DeeConsumer Care 06/11/12 11:15 AM
I'm sorry you haven't noticed any improvement with the Total Effects Minimizing Brush. We stand behind our products 100% and would like to help and learn more about what happened. Please give us a call at (800) 395-0737 when you have a chance.
Review 7 for Total Effect Line & Dark Circle Minimizing Brush
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
LeeLee8669
Age: 25-34
My skin type is: Dry
Sensitive skin: No
Using Olay since: 1999

Love it!!

Posted on05/11/12 04:21 PM
I am a African American and was very unsure about what this product would do for me. I was very impressed!! It was neither to dark or too light. It helped to simply airbrush over my undereye circles, making my skin look refresh and natural.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Total Effect Line & Dark Circle Minimizing Brush
Overall Rating
1 / 5
1 / 5  stars
momx5
Pittsbugh,PA
Age: 45-54
My skin type is: Dry
Sensitive skin: Yes
Using Olay since: 1988

Feels good but disappointing

Posted on05/02/12 05:43 AM
I am an Olay addict and I can honestly say I have tried MANY of your products and use both Pro-X and Regenerist daily. This product feels wonderful going on (I don't know if it is the brush or the product itself) but for me it didn't cover or improve my circles. I have three daughters and with our allergies dark circles are an issue but with our "glow in the dark" fair skin this product makes our eyes look worse! I purchased the double pack at Costco so you could say I am doubly disappointed
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Total Effect Line & Dark Circle Minimizing Brush
Overall Rating
1 / 5
1 / 5  stars
peachyblnd
helper, ut
Age: 35-44
My skin type is: Normal
Sensitive skin: No
Using Olay since: 2011

Posted on03/07/12 06:31 PM
this doesnt work.. the only thing it does is cover up the dark circles but it dont get rid of them at all
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Olay:By DeeConsumer Care 03/20/12 11:25 AM
Sorry the Total Effects Minimizing Brush didn't work for you. We tested the product to give the results claimed so this is not what we would expect either. Still, we'd like to help so give us a call at (800) 285-5170. Thanks!
Review 10 for Total Effect Line & Dark Circle Minimizing Brush
Overall Rating
1 / 5
1 / 5  stars
ctcia
Age: 25-34
My skin type is: Normal
Sensitive skin: No

7-in-1 anti aging eye cream doesn't work

Posted on02/28/12 03:36 PM
I recently purchased the Total Effects 7-in-1 anti-aging eye cream. I thought it would be a great product for minimizing my dark circles. Because Olay is usually a good brand I was okay with spending the money. I am so disappointed. This product does not minimize the dark circles at all. It's way too thin and has a yellow tint to it that looks absolutely ridiculous. After seeing all the negative reviews on this website I am surprised that Olay would continue to sell such a product. Now I have wasted my money for a product that doesn't work at all.
Response from Olay:By DeeConsumer Care 03/09/12 09:31 AM
Thanks for trying the TE Minimizing Brush and I'm sorry it didn't minimize the dark circles. We'd like to learn more about your experience if you can give us a call at (800) 285-5170. Thanks for your loyalty to Olay!
Review 11 for Total Effect Line & Dark Circle Minimizing Brush
Overall Rating
1 / 5
1 / 5  stars
Newbie
New York
Age: 25-34
My skin type is: Combination
Sensitive skin: No
Using Olay since: 2011

Total Effects totally not worth it

Posted on02/24/12 06:40 PM
I picked up this product today, with the hopes that my tired eyes could look, well, less tired. The moment I put it on, I instantly wanted to take it off. It feels super cakey and thick, and didn't hide my "dark circles". For how much it costs, it should do a much better job.. Now, I am out the $$, and still need to find something that will work for me... ugh..
Response from Olay:By DeeConsumer Care 02/29/12 01:15 PM
I'm sorry you didn't the results we'd expect with our product and we'd like to help. Please call us at (800) 285-5170 and one of our agents can make a recommendation and help make this right. Thanks!
Review 12 for Total Effect Line & Dark Circle Minimizing Brush
Overall Rating
2 / 5
2 / 5  stars
Rebecca1
Kewanee, IL
Age: 55-64
My skin type is: Dry
Sensitive skin: Yes
Using Olay since: 2011

Not for those with serious dark circles

Posted on02/07/12 11:34 AM
Per you product description - "Instantly reduces the appearance of dark circles and fine lines".
"Instantly reduces appearance of dark cirles" is a false statement for those of us who have dark circles. In order to get any kind of lightening, you have to let it dry between 3 applications. Doing so will slightly lighten dark circles, but you can definitely see you have them. Application at this rate will use the product up quite quickly, to the cost of the product is overpriced for what it does.
Your product description also stated "Gentle brush application provides smooth, even coverage". The brush is somewhat soft, but needs to be softer so that the product moves across all the bristles. This will provide a smoother application that it does today.
Olay needs to send products to test subjects that actually have the problems they say the formulations are for. If you continue on in your advertising, you will be losing many more customers with you false product descriptions.
Response from Olay:By DeeConsumer Care 02/15/12 10:38 AM
I am sorry you did not find this product helpful. We stand behind our products 100% so please give us a call 1-800-285-5170 so that we can help!
Review 13 for Total Effect Line & Dark Circle Minimizing Brush
Overall Rating
1 / 5
1 / 5  stars
Petra
Canada
Age: 45-54
My skin type is: Sensitive
Sensitive skin: Yes
Using Olay since: 1990

Total Effects line

Posted on01/20/12 10:29 AM
I cannot believe I wasted my money on this product. I should have read ALL the negative reviews before purchasing. Directions for product are very vague, and the product does not perform as stated. A $5.00 purchase would have worked better than this product. What a complete rip off
Response from Olay:By DeeConsumer Care 01/24/12 01:07 PM
I'm sorry you feel you wasted your money on the Total Effects Minimizing Brush. I would like to assure you we're here to help and we do stand behind our products. Please give us a call at (800) 395-0737. Thanks!
Review 14 for Total Effect Line & Dark Circle Minimizing Brush
Overall Rating
1 / 5
1 / 5  stars
Hba12345
baldwin place, ny
Age: 45-54
My skin type is: Dry
Sensitive skin: No
Using Olay since: 2008

Worst purchase ever

Posted on01/06/12 03:22 PM
I was so looking forward to this product but am now so upset and disappointed. I love Olay, but this product, which is costly in my book, is totally ineffective. It did nothing, and I wish I could get my money back.
Response from Olay:By DeeConsumer Care 01/13/12 09:33 AM
Hate to hear your disappointed with the new Total Effects Minimizing Brush. We'd expect this product to instantly reduce the appearance of dark circles and fine lines and I'm sorry that wasn't the case for you. Still, we'd like to help so please call us at (800) 395-0737. Thanks!
Review 15 for Total Effect Line & Dark Circle Minimizing Brush
Overall Rating
1 / 5
1 / 5  stars
Martie
Washington DC
Age: 45-54
My skin type is: Normal
Sensitive skin: Yes
Using Olay since: 2009

Not Working..

Posted on01/04/12 09:41 PM
I bought The Total Effects Line and Dark Circle Brush from Costco. It costs 30.00. I was hoping it was going to diminish and disappear over time, but it hasnt done anything. I'm upset and very dissapointed. The description didnt live up to what I expected. I have Olay products and I need something that is going to help me with the dark circles. What do you recommend? Also, the dispensed is not working and I have tried keeping in the toothbrush holder facing down..still doesnt work.
Response from Olay:By DeeConsumer Care 01/11/12 12:17 PM
We'd expect it to instantly provide a tinted coverage for younger, brighter looking eyes and reduce the appearance of dark circles and fine lines. I'm sorry this wasn't the case for you and we'd like to help. We stand behind our products 100% so please give us a call at (800) 395-0737. Thanks!
Review 16 for Total Effect Line & Dark Circle Minimizing Brush
Overall Rating
4 / 5
4 / 5  stars
JH58
California
Age: 25-34
My skin type is: Normal
Sensitive skin: No
Using Olay since: 2007

Not bad

Posted on01/03/12 08:53 PM
I am only 30 and I don't have super bad dark circles but I needed something more than just my foundation for under my eyes so I decided to give this a try. The product itself works well. I have pretty fair skin and the tint is a good match. Any puffiness is gone within a few minutes of putting it on. The only real problem I have is that too much product is dispensed with one click. A single click gives me at least twice as much product as I need. I feel like I'm ending up wasting it. I noticed some of the other reviews said that nothing came out of some applicators. I think that this product might be better if it was packaged up some other way than in this applicator.
Review 17 for Total Effect Line & Dark Circle Minimizing Brush
Overall Rating
1 / 5
1 / 5  stars
Pink
Miami, FL
Age: 25-34
My skin type is: Combination
Sensitive skin: No
Using Olay since: 2009

Poor Instructions

Posted on11/19/11 03:38 PM
I purchased this product at Costco for 2 packs, I was looking for an eye moisturizer that I could use at night. The instructions are not very clear and until i open it that I realized it was for day time use and under makeup. I'm very disappointed because I'm not looking for an under eye concealer, and i can not return it .
Response from Olay:By DeeConsumer Care 11/22/11 01:49 PM
Sorry for the confusion with the Olay Total Effects Minimizing Brush. We stand behind our products and would like to help. Please give us a call at (800) 395-0737 at your convenience. Thanks!
Review 18 for Total Effect Line & Dark Circle Minimizing Brush
Overall Rating
1 / 5
1 / 5  stars
PennyK
Ohio
Age: 45-54
My skin type is: Normal
Sensitive skin: No
Using Olay since: 1985

Very Let Down

Posted on11/09/11 12:56 PM
I purchased this product after much comparison of the drugstore shelves. I am totally disappointed and disheartened. I have been an OLAY gal for years and this is first time I've felt like I threw my money down the drain. This does not hide dark circles, is a mess to operate and barely matches my skin tone. After using this product my eyes actually appeared worse and required more makeup then usual to cover. Extremely disappointed in this product.
Response from Olay:By DeeConsumer Care 11/17/11 02:01 PM
I'm sorry the Total Effects Minimizing Brush didn't hide your dark circles and was difficult to use. We'd like to learn more about what happened. Please give us a call at (800) 395-0737 and we'll be happy to help!
Review 19 for Total Effect Line & Dark Circle Minimizing Brush
Overall Rating
1 / 5
1 / 5  stars
Blair
Beverly Hills, MI
Age: 45-54
My skin type is: Normal
Sensitive skin: No

Not Happy

Posted on11/08/11 04:36 PM
I purchased this product at Costco (2 pack) for $30.00. I am 45 years old and was thrilled to see an item titled "Dark Circle Minimizing Brush". I liked my old under eye concealer but I have purchased other make up products from other brands at Costco and was very happy with them. I don't own any Olay products. Not only doesn't it minimize the dark circles, the tint is so dark that it HIGHLIGHTS them. Obviously, I opened the product to use it and now can't return it. I would not recommend this product and would be very hesitant to purchase another Olay item.
Response from Olay:By DeeConsumer Care 11/17/11 02:04 PM
Hate to hear you're not happy with your purchase. We'd expect the Total Effects Line and Dark Circle Minimizing Brush to conceal and instantly reduce the appearance of dark circles and fine lines. With that said, we'd like to help make this right for you. Please give us a call at (800) 395-0737. Thanks!
Review 20 for Total Effect Line & Dark Circle Minimizing Brush
Overall Rating
4 / 5
4 / 5  stars
SandyA
WI
Age: 45-54
My skin type is: Combination
Sensitive skin: Yes
Using Olay since: 1990

I like it

Posted on11/03/11 12:55 PM
I am surprised at all the negative reviews. It did take about 2-3 weeks before I noticed a difference, but I can definitely see a difference. I have very dark circles and it has helped. I also have had no problems with the applicator, but I do stand it on end with the brush down.
1 2 3 next