Olay Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Olay {Shine, Shine Go Away!} Shine Minimizing Cleanser

Olay {Shine, Shine Go Away!} Shine Minimizing Cleanser

Get a deep clean that has all the purifying power of a mask, but lathers and rinses like a daily cleanser.
Average Customer Rating:
4.526 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
(19 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
1 / 13(8%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
This area allows consumers like you to express their own opinions and comments. Olay does not represent or warrant the accuracy of any statements or product claims made here, nor endorses any opinions expressed within this section.
Customer Reviews for {Shine, Shine Go Away!} Shine Minimizing Cleanser
Review 1 for {Shine, Shine Go Away!} Shine Minimizing Cleanser
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Los Angeles, CA
Month: March
Year: 1989
Received Free Product: No

love this

Posted on08/26/15 05:53 PM
I can't believe they discontinued this product at stores everywhere... I have really oily skin I have to blot my face at last 4 or 5 times through out the day. And when I was using this I would only have to blot once towards the very end of the night. Please bring it back in stores.
Review 2 for {Shine, Shine Go Away!} Shine Minimizing Cleanser
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
kendrabrooke1218@aol.com
Month: December
Year: 1979
Received Free Product: No

PLEASE, DON'T GO!

Posted on08/06/15 09:50 AM
I was skeptical when I bought this product. But I was soon proved happy! This the only product I've used the drastically tames my oily/shiny skin. I was so happy to have found it. Now it's going away :-(. Please bring it back!
Review 3 for {Shine, Shine Go Away!} Shine Minimizing Cleanser
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Philadelphia, PA
Month: August
Year: 1989
Received Free Product: No

Don't discontinue!!

Posted on07/22/15 10:20 AM
This product is the only one i've ever found that worked for my oily skin! I've been using this for two years now, and have never considered using anything else. I used all year around, and it never dried out my skin, even in the winter, but still left my face fresh, and shine free! So sad to see this product go, i've been trying to buy from anywhere I can find it before it's all out :(
Review 4 for {Shine, Shine Go Away!} Shine Minimizing Cleanser
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
St. Louis, MO
Month: July
Year: 1993
Received Free Product: No

Shine, Shine Please Don't Go Away!!!

Posted on06/30/15 01:08 PM
I love this product!! I've been using this for the past two years. I'm really disappointed to see this product go. I use this cleanser every morning when my face feels oily. After use, Shine, Shine Go Away! leaves my face feeling refresh and clean. I tried using the other cleanser Bead me up!, but there is no comparison.
Review 5 for {Shine, Shine Go Away!} Shine Minimizing Cleanser
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Kittanning, PA
Age: 55-64

Love this cleanser

Posted on02/28/15 12:24 PM
I have been using this cleanser since it first came out-Love it! However, all the local walmarts and targets within a 30 mile range of my home have put on clearance and not getting back in. Love the scent! Please do not quit this product!
Review 6 for {Shine, Shine Go Away!} Shine Minimizing Cleanser
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
caribbean
Age: 25-34

oily skin

Posted on02/18/15 07:29 AM
I live in the carribean it's always blazing hot with the sun. I have been using this product for the past three weeks with the brush my skin is looking gorgeous ! shine gone .little pimples cleared up . my skin is glowing and feels ridículously smooth. I need to get the full size
Review 7 for {Shine, Shine Go Away!} Shine Minimizing Cleanser
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
caribbean
Age: 25-34

oily skin

Posted on02/18/15 07:29 AM
I live in the carribean it's always blazing hot with the sun. I have been using this product for the past three weeks with the brush my skin is looking gorgeous ! shine gone .little pimples cleared up . my skin is glowing and feels ridículously smooth. I need to get the full size
Review 8 for {Shine, Shine Go Away!} Shine Minimizing Cleanser
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
New Orleans, LA
Age: 17 or under

GREAT for Oily Skin!

Posted on09/19/14 02:30 PM
I've been using this product for several months now and I have had nothing but a great experience with it. It actually does make my face significantly less shiny and used in lieu with the orange acne scrub and the gel moisturizer from the Fresh Effects line, it cleared up my skin in just a few weeks! I'm so happy that I got this!
Review 9 for {Shine, Shine Go Away!} Shine Minimizing Cleanser
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Effectiveness
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Newport News, VA, USA
Age: 18-24
My skin type is: Sensitive
Using Olay since: 2010
I saw results: Faster than expected

Amazing!

Posted on08/06/14 10:36 PM
I absolutely LOVE this face wash! I have really sensitive skin and this product is very gentle on my skin. I love how after I wash my face, it leaves my skin super duper smooth and soft.
Review 10 for {Shine, Shine Go Away!} Shine Minimizing Cleanser
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Levittown, PA
Age: 35-44
My skin type is: Oily
Sensitive skin: No

It really works!

Posted on05/31/13 10:34 AM
I received a sample of Shine, Shine Go Away in the mail last week. I wanted to see how it would hold up in hot and humid weather and after a sweaty work out. The product was easy to use in the morning and left my skin feeling velvety soft. After sweating there was still a soft glow to my skin but not the sticky greasiness that I used to have. I love it.
Review 11 for {Shine, Shine Go Away!} Shine Minimizing Cleanser
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Rural Valley, PA
Age: 55-64
My skin type is: Dry
Sensitive skin: No
Using Olay since: 2007

Best sample so far

Posted on05/28/13 07:23 PM
I signed up to get a sample of the Olay shine minimizing cleaner unsure if it really would work. After using it several time I noticed that my skin had more of an even tone. Some areas of my face are shiny. Now when I put on my makeup my skin has a even tone about it. I also love all the bubbles and the nice scent you get when you wash your face. For just an unknown sample, I am sold on Olay Fresh effects. I want to try more now.
Review 12 for {Shine, Shine Go Away!} Shine Minimizing Cleanser
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Western PA
Age: 35-44
My skin type is: Combination
Sensitive skin: Yes
Using Olay since: 1997

Love this cleanser!

Posted on02/22/13 09:30 PM
I love this cleanser! I have such oily skin, but it also can get very dry in patches. This cleanser keeps my skin nice and even. It controls the oil, and doesn't make my face dry. You only need a tiny bit and it lathers up great. It also smells really nice. I have found a new favorite!
Review 13 for {Shine, Shine Go Away!} Shine Minimizing Cleanser
Overall Rating
4 / 5
4 / 5  stars
New York, NY
Age: 25-34

Liked it a lot

Posted on04/09/15 01:17 PM
This product was nice and it didn't have a strong smell, which is great for my eczema.
Review 14 for {Shine, Shine Go Away!} Shine Minimizing Cleanser
Overall Rating
4 / 5
4 / 5  stars
Texas
Age: 25-34
My skin type is: Oily
Sensitive skin: Yes

Olay Fresh Effects

Posted on09/04/13 09:43 AM
Olay Fresh Effects was given to me complimentary from Influenster and I love it! If you are oily, especially around your t-zone area this is a great face wash. My face feels so clean and looks less oily. I use it in the mornings because I love the way my skin looks and feels.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for {Shine, Shine Go Away!} Shine Minimizing Cleanser
Overall Rating
4 / 5
4 / 5  stars
Dearborn, MI
My skin type is: Combination
Sensitive skin: Yes
Using Olay since: 2011

Feels Like A Mask, Gentle Like A Cleanser

Posted on08/09/13 12:26 PM
I've been using this for a few months now, and I wasn't really sold on it at first. When you first get it, the scent is a bit strong in the packaging but once you have the product in your hand and it lathers the smell is quite nice.
Its thick in consistency and almost apply like a face mask would, but very creamy. Don't use too much water with this or it will dilute too much and go on the face kind of runny. The lather is okay. I find myself using much more of this compared to how little I needed with my Olay Foaming Face Wash.
My pores look much smaller after using it and my skin isn't dry at all. I have noticed how well it keeps shine at bay throughout the day. Even though my current moisturizer used to make me very shiny in the t-zone. That doesn't happen anymore.
When I first started using it, it was causing me to break out in my t-zone. But I kept with it hoping my skin would just adjust and it did after about a week.
Review 16 for {Shine, Shine Go Away!} Shine Minimizing Cleanser
Overall Rating
4 / 5
4 / 5  stars
Pgh, PA
Age: 45-54
My skin type is: Combination
Sensitive skin: Yes
Using Olay since: 1970

nice product

Posted on02/28/13 12:45 PM
I just tried Olay's Fresh Effects shine shine go away (my grocery store had samples) and it is a very nice, effective product. I am over 50 with sensitive, combination skin & still get breakouts! I've used regular sensitive Olay since my teens. Thank you for this product!
Review 17 for {Shine, Shine Go Away!} Shine Minimizing Cleanser
Overall Rating
3 / 5
3 / 5  stars
brownsville tx
Age: 25-34

it works but

Posted on02/21/15 11:33 PM
well it works my face wasn't shiny. it has a grainy feel and it feels sort of odd on your face but it works my forehead wasn't shiny and it left my face sort of dry but with my face lotion it was ok I guess I would say use it when u feel your face is extra shiny
Review 18 for {Shine, Shine Go Away!} Shine Minimizing Cleanser
Overall Rating
2 / 5
2 / 5  stars
Tigard, Oregon
Age: 18-24

EHHH wouldn't repurchase!

Posted on09/04/14 03:01 AM
This product claims to help reduce shininess and even the name alone claims it gets rid of shine, and with me personally it made my usually non-shiny skin, guess what!? Shiny!! Even once my skin had fully dried after this it was still much more noticeably shinier than ever before!! I actually had to start using blotting cloths to take off some of the shine caused by this product!
Ratings-Only Reviews for {Shine, Shine Go Away!} Shine Minimizing Cleanser
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Would recommend? Yes 0 / 1