Olay Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Olay {Shine, Shine Go Away!} Shine Minimizing Cleanser

Olay {Shine, Shine Go Away!} Shine Minimizing Cleanser

Get a deep clean that has all the purifying power of a mask, but lathers and rinses like a daily cleanser.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
(27 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
4 / 21(19%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
This area allows consumers like you to express their own opinions and comments. Olay does not represent or warrant the accuracy of any statements or product claims made here, nor endorses any opinions expressed within this section.
Customer Reviews for {Shine, Shine Go Away!} Shine Minimizing Cleanser
Review 1 for {Shine, Shine Go Away!} Shine Minimizing Cleanser
Overall Rating
2 / 5
2 / 5  stars
Tigard, Oregon
Age: 18-24

EHHH wouldn't repurchase!

Posted on09/04/14 03:01 AM
This product claims to help reduce shininess and even the name alone claims it gets rid of shine, and with me personally it made my usually non-shiny skin, guess what!? Shiny!! Even once my skin had fully dried after this it was still much more noticeably shinier than ever before!! I actually had to start using blotting cloths to take off some of the shine caused by this product!
Review 2 for {Shine, Shine Go Away!} Shine Minimizing Cleanser
Overall Rating
3 / 5
3 / 5  stars
brownsville tx
Age: 25-34

it works but

Posted on02/21/15 11:33 PM
well it works my face wasn't shiny. it has a grainy feel and it feels sort of odd on your face but it works my forehead wasn't shiny and it left my face sort of dry but with my face lotion it was ok I guess I would say use it when u feel your face is extra shiny
Review 3 for {Shine, Shine Go Away!} Shine Minimizing Cleanser
Overall Rating
4 / 5
4 / 5  stars
New York, NY
Age: 25-34

Liked it a lot

Posted on04/09/15 01:17 PM
This product was nice and it didn't have a strong smell, which is great for my eczema.
Review 4 for {Shine, Shine Go Away!} Shine Minimizing Cleanser
Overall Rating
4 / 5
4 / 5  stars
Texas
Age: 25-34
My skin type is: Oily
Sensitive skin: Yes

Olay Fresh Effects

Posted on09/04/13 09:43 AM
Olay Fresh Effects was given to me complimentary from Influenster and I love it! If you are oily, especially around your t-zone area this is a great face wash. My face feels so clean and looks less oily. I use it in the mornings because I love the way my skin looks and feels.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for {Shine, Shine Go Away!} Shine Minimizing Cleanser
Overall Rating
4 / 5
4 / 5  stars
Dearborn, MI
My skin type is: Combination
Sensitive skin: Yes
Using Olay since: 2011

Feels Like A Mask, Gentle Like A Cleanser

Posted on08/09/13 12:26 PM
I've been using this for a few months now, and I wasn't really sold on it at first. When you first get it, the scent is a bit strong in the packaging but once you have the product in your hand and it lathers the smell is quite nice.
Its thick in consistency and almost apply like a face mask would, but very creamy. Don't use too much water with this or it will dilute too much and go on the face kind of runny. The lather is okay. I find myself using much more of this compared to how little I needed with my Olay Foaming Face Wash.
My pores look much smaller after using it and my skin isn't dry at all. I have noticed how well it keeps shine at bay throughout the day. Even though my current moisturizer used to make me very shiny in the t-zone. That doesn't happen anymore.
When I first started using it, it was causing me to break out in my t-zone. But I kept with it hoping my skin would just adjust and it did after about a week.
Review 6 for {Shine, Shine Go Away!} Shine Minimizing Cleanser
Overall Rating
4 / 5
4 / 5  stars
Pgh, PA
Age: 45-54
My skin type is: Combination
Sensitive skin: Yes
Using Olay since: 1970

nice product

Posted on02/28/13 12:45 PM
I just tried Olay's Fresh Effects shine shine go away (my grocery store had samples) and it is a very nice, effective product. I am over 50 with sensitive, combination skin & still get breakouts! I've used regular sensitive Olay since my teens. Thank you for this product!
Review 7 for {Shine, Shine Go Away!} Shine Minimizing Cleanser
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Skin Feel
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Duglas
Month: March
Year: 1989

Best of the Product

Posted on01/26/16 02:11 AM
Grate Product, I will use this product is feel good for our skin
Review 8 for {Shine, Shine Go Away!} Shine Minimizing Cleanser
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Skin Feel
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Chapel Hill, NC
Month: December
Year: 1988

Please bring the product back, I really like it.

Posted on01/25/16 09:09 PM
Please don't discontinue this product. I can not find any other product to replace this one.
Review 9 for {Shine, Shine Go Away!} Shine Minimizing Cleanser
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Detroit, MI
Month: February
Year: 1986

best out there

Posted on12/15/15 07:59 AM
I love this I have very oily skin I couldn't find any other product to take the shine away .I give it five stars
Review 10 for {Shine, Shine Go Away!} Shine Minimizing Cleanser
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Washington, DC
Month: September
Year: 1990

DON'T DISCONTINUE!

Posted on09/22/15 08:51 AM
I have super oily skin and loved how this helped to manage that! It did not make my face feel too dry after using it, and now I'm so sad that I cannot find it in stores due to it being discontinued.
Please reconsider keeping this product available!
Review 11 for {Shine, Shine Go Away!} Shine Minimizing Cleanser
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Michigan
Month: May
Year: 1995

PLEASE DONT DISCONTINUE THIS AMAZING PRODUCT

Posted on09/21/15 08:14 PM
I have oily skin and I have yet to find a product that took the oil away, but didn't dry out my skin. Then I found this miracle! It was like a godsend. It doesn't dry out my skin and it doesn't cause me to break out. Hands down the best cleanser I've ever used and you're taking it away :(
Review 12 for {Shine, Shine Go Away!} Shine Minimizing Cleanser
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Month: August
Year: 1985

Shine, Shine, Go Away Cleanser

Posted on09/20/15 11:14 AM
This was the most amazing cleanser for my combination oily skin. Please bring it back.
Review 13 for {Shine, Shine Go Away!} Shine Minimizing Cleanser
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
FAYETTEVILLE/FORT BRAGG NC
Month: October
Year: 1984

PLEASE KEEP THIS FACEWASH!!!!!!

Posted on09/17/15 09:34 AM
DO NOT GET RID OF THIS FACEWASH OLAY PEOPLE!!! I LOVE IT. I CANT FIND IT IN STORES.... IT WAS GIVEN TO ME BY A FRIEND WHO SAYS IT DRIED HER FACE OUT. I HAVE OILY SKIN AND IT WAS PERFECT FOR ME! ONLY HAD THE OPPORTUNITY TO OWN THIS PRODUCT ONE TIME! PLEASE KEEP MAKING IT!!!!!!! IM TRYING TO EMAIL YOU OLAY PEOPLE BUT IT WONT LET ME... I HOPE YOU SEE ALL THESE REVIEWS!!! CONTACT ME
Review 14 for {Shine, Shine Go Away!} Shine Minimizing Cleanser
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
FAYETTEVILLE/FORT BRAGG NC
Month: October
Year: 1984

PLEASE KEEP THIS FACEWASH!!!!!!

Posted on09/17/15 09:34 AM
DO NOT GET RID OF THIS FACEWASH OLAY PEOPLE!!! I LOVE IT. I CANT FIND IT IN STORES.... IT WAS GIVEN TO ME BY A FRIEND WHO SAYS IT DRIED HER FACE OUT. I HAVE OILY SKIN AND IT WAS PERFECT FOR ME! ONLY HAD THE OPPORTUNITY TO OWN THIS PRODUCT ONE TIME! PLEASE KEEP MAKING IT!!!!!!! IM TRYING TO EMAIL YOU OLAY PEOPLE BUT IT WONT LET ME... I HOPE YOU SEE ALL THESE REVIEWS!!! CONTACT ME
Review 15 for {Shine, Shine Go Away!} Shine Minimizing Cleanser
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Los Angeles, CA
Month: March
Year: 1989

love this

Posted on08/26/15 05:53 PM
I can't believe they discontinued this product at stores everywhere... I have really oily skin I have to blot my face at last 4 or 5 times through out the day. And when I was using this I would only have to blot once towards the very end of the night. Please bring it back in stores.
Review 16 for {Shine, Shine Go Away!} Shine Minimizing Cleanser
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
kendrabrooke1218@aol.com
Month: December
Year: 1979

PLEASE, DON'T GO!

Posted on08/06/15 09:50 AM
I was skeptical when I bought this product. But I was soon proved happy! This the only product I've used the drastically tames my oily/shiny skin. I was so happy to have found it. Now it's going away :-(. Please bring it back!
Review 17 for {Shine, Shine Go Away!} Shine Minimizing Cleanser
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Philadelphia, PA
Month: August
Year: 1989

Don't discontinue!!

Posted on07/22/15 10:20 AM
This product is the only one i've ever found that worked for my oily skin! I've been using this for two years now, and have never considered using anything else. I used all year around, and it never dried out my skin, even in the winter, but still left my face fresh, and shine free! So sad to see this product go, i've been trying to buy from anywhere I can find it before it's all out :(
Review 18 for {Shine, Shine Go Away!} Shine Minimizing Cleanser
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
St. Louis, MO
Month: July
Year: 1993

Shine, Shine Please Don't Go Away!!!

Posted on06/30/15 01:08 PM
I love this product!! I've been using this for the past two years. I'm really disappointed to see this product go. I use this cleanser every morning when my face feels oily. After use, Shine, Shine Go Away! leaves my face feeling refresh and clean. I tried using the other cleanser Bead me up!, but there is no comparison.
Review 19 for {Shine, Shine Go Away!} Shine Minimizing Cleanser
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
Kittanning, PA
Age: 55-64

Love this cleanser

Posted on02/28/15 12:24 PM
I have been using this cleanser since it first came out-Love it! However, all the local walmarts and targets within a 30 mile range of my home have put on clearance and not getting back in. Love the scent! Please do not quit this product!
Review 20 for {Shine, Shine Go Away!} Shine Minimizing Cleanser
Overall Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5  stars
caribbean
Age: 25-34

oily skin

Posted on02/18/15 07:29 AM
I live in the carribean it's always blazing hot with the sun. I have been using this product for the past three weeks with the brush my skin is looking gorgeous ! shine gone .little pimples cleared up . my skin is glowing and feels ridículously smooth. I need to get the full size
1 2 next